Author Topic: Long time slickedit user and things are not looking good  (Read 7089 times)

saheemg

• Junior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 0
Long time slickedit user and things are not looking good
« on: July 11, 2014, 04:59:09 PM »
I have been using slickedit for many years and I always thought it was great. (Even got my new employer to purchase me a license despite them having multiple options for an editor readily available.)  These last two releases or so, I am starting to see the quality dropping off.  Here are a couple of things (hopefully its really user error and someone can help me resolve them).

First here is my version info:
lickEdit 2013 (v18.0.1.2 64-bit)

Serial number: WB946738
Licensed number of users: Single user
License file: C:\ProgramData\slickedit\18\slickedit.lic

Build Date: August 12, 2013
Emulation: CUA

Now my problems
Backup history: Randomly decides when to create history.  Sometimes it does and sometimes even after multiple saves it only shows version 0.  I have been using integrated FTP client for files.  I wonder if that plays a role.  (I am pretty sure I have backup history configured properly.)

DIFF: This is the most painful.  Sometimes I am at a difference and all of the "block" and "line"buttons are all grey. Or when it should allow me to delete the block, it doesn't.  Or worse when I say press "Line" it actually copies the string "Imaginary Buffer Line".  Its all so random, I have no idea what to expect.

When I do ctrl-tab, the behavior is basically random.  This started a few releases ago.  I remember a time when I did a ctrl-tab it always went back to the window I just worked on first.  I have played with the Smart Next Window option and I have never got it back to the way it was.  Now ctrl-tab takes me to a random file (not even the next window in the window table toolbar.)