Author Topic: Run as Administrator  (Read 1411 times)

astromme

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 89
  • Hero Points: 0
Run as Administrator
« on: August 21, 2014, 02:20:02 pm »
I happened to start Slickedit from an administrator prompt in windows.  The next time I started Slickedit as my normal self, my open files weren't there and a dialog popped up that said "Restore: Error creating directory entry".

I'm assuming some permissions changed.  If I start Slickedit and close it right away, what files does it touch?  Is there a "one click" solution to revert those permissions?

jimlangrunner

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 360
  • Hero Points: 31
  • Jim Lang - always a student.
Re: Run as Administrator
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2014, 02:32:56 pm »
I believe that when you "ran as admin" Slick set up a config directory for you under users\administrator\documents.  This is not glaringly obvious when you do it, but a little investigation shows that that process is using admin's profile and not yours.

I believe this is normal behavior and what I expect when I do have to run as admin.

astromme

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 89
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Run as Administrator
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2014, 06:03:16 pm »
I don't see any other My Slickedit Config directories other than nested under my vsdelta/ directory.
Any other ideas?

hs2

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2736
  • Hero Points: 288
Re: Run as Administrator
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2014, 06:09:23 pm »
'vsdelta/' sure ? Better cross-check with 'Help>About' where your actual config dir really is.
HS2

astromme

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 89
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Run as Administrator
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2014, 07:37:03 pm »
It's where I expect - the vsdelta directory is under my config directory.  There's .vsdelta files for user.vlx, vusrdefs.e, vusrobjs.e and vusrs18.0.1.2h.e


jimlangrunner

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 360
  • Hero Points: 31
  • Jim Lang - always a student.
Re: Run as Administrator
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2014, 07:51:41 pm »
Curiouser and curiouser.

On one machine where I am not an administrator, I am prompted for login credentials. Such logins produce the behavior I expect, and put the config information under the admin profile I used for run-as.

On another machine, where I am a local admin, "Run As Admin" puts the config files under my local profile.

So I'm not sure why it "lost" your directory.  I'm sorry to have added confusion to this.