Author Topic: Win7x64 B1: Auto-Hide  (Read 2158 times)

rozum

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 147
  • Hero Points: 5
Win7x64 B1: Auto-Hide
« on: August 20, 2014, 10:36:09 pm »
In Win7x64 B1 - The Auto-hide feature associated docked Tool Windows seems to be no longer supported.  Is this to be expected?

Clark

  • Moderator
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4560
  • Hero Points: 353
Re: Win7x64 B1: Auto-Hide
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2014, 03:00:18 am »
I use auto hide with v19. I'm confused. I just click on the tack looking icon on the docked tool window.

jimlangrunner

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 360
  • Hero Points: 31
  • Jim Lang - always a student.
Re: Win7x64 B1: Auto-Hide
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2014, 12:52:28 pm »
I note that some of the toolbars & windows I had set to auto-hide in 2013 had the "pin" out on 2014.  Clicking on the pin sets it back to auto-hide.

It looks like some of the migration information between 2013 & 2014 didn't upgrade as cleanly as it should.  Probably a cleanup item.

Clark

  • Moderator
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4560
  • Hero Points: 353
Re: Win7x64 B1: Auto-Hide
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2014, 02:00:49 pm »
Ah...we weren't able to support transferring tool window dock/float information so you'll have to re-setup your tool windows. At least with 2014 (v19) it's much easier to choose where you want your tool windows to go and whether you want a tool window to take up the whole outer side of the Main Window Group window.

2014 (v19) will preserve toolbar dock/float information. Unfortunately, in 2015 we plan to rewrite the toolbar docking. For 2015, we will be able to preserve user created toolbars and icons that are added but it's very unlikely we will be able to migrate the dock/float information.

jimlangrunner

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 360
  • Hero Points: 31
  • Jim Lang - always a student.
Re: Win7x64 B1: Auto-Hide
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2014, 02:05:53 pm »
Good to know.  Yes, I did have to re-setup my docks, but that's not terribly difficult. I agree that docking and getting them to do what I want is much easier in v19 than it was in v18.

rozum

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 147
  • Hero Points: 5
Re: Win7x64 B1: Auto-Hide
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2014, 02:14:12 pm »
Thank you all for the feedback and I do see the disconnect.

Clark, you are absolutely correct that the Auto-hide is working with respect to the mouse click focus changes, an obvious feature to which I wasn't aware of until today.

What I have become accustom to in 2013 and earlier releases, is the Tools Windows automatically expanding when the mouse "hovers" over the collapsed Tools Window icon.  This doesn't occur in 2014.  The mouse "hover" is detected by the Tools Window Icon by the fact that the "selection bar" changes color, but unfortunately the Tool Window doesn't expand.

Rodney

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 732
  • Hero Points: 47
Re: Win7x64 B1: Auto-Hide
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2014, 02:23:06 pm »
The hover functionality is not implemented yet, but should be in the next beta. The default, however, will be to click on the autohide tab to "raise" the window, so you will have to go into options to turn on hover.

++rodney

rozum

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 147
  • Hero Points: 5
Re: Win7x64 B1: Auto-Hide
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2014, 03:33:50 am »
Hello Rodney,

Thanks for looking into this. By chance did this enhancement make it into beta 2?  If so what option do I need to set to enable this functionality?

Rodney

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 732
  • Hero Points: 47
Re: Win7x64 B1: Auto-Hide
« Reply #8 on: September 03, 2014, 03:37:04 am »
Didn't make beta2. Next one.

++rodney

Rodney

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 732
  • Hero Points: 47
Re: Win7x64 B1: Auto-Hide
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2014, 05:34:37 am »
Hover support is in the next beta. Turn on hovering from View>Tool Windows>Customize, Options.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2014, 05:44:19 am by Rodney »