Author Topic: B1: No top-level menu hotkeys  (Read 3451 times)

jnairb

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 204
  • Hero Points: 11
B1: No top-level menu hotkeys
« on: August 25, 2014, 08:03:45 pm »
Running on Windows 7 x64. The top-level menu (i.e. File/Edit/Search/View...) does not have any hot-keys and when I attempt to edit the _mdi_menu and add them, I can't get them to be saved except for File. (And somehow I got the View menu to have hot key of "i" -- V&iew in the _mdi_menu, but that's not what the previous release used and it's not what I explicitly set.)

In configuration (Keyboard and Mouse/Advanced), I have Use Alt+key for menu drop-downs  OFF and Alt menu ON. Previous SE releases, I can then press Alt to activate main menu, then hot-key to open a particular menu. None of this works with SE 19 except for File (after editing the _mdi_menu).

patrick

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 996
  • Hero Points: 81
Re: B1: No top-level menu hotkeys
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2014, 03:23:55 pm »
Fixed for the next beta drop.  Thanks for the report.

jnairb

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 204
  • Hero Points: 11
Re: B1: No top-level menu hotkeys
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2014, 08:51:45 pm »
I just loaded beta 2. If I start beta 2 with a new config directory (so it doesn't try to upgrade my 18.0.1 config), the top level menu hot-keys are all set. Tools has a hot-key of T but in my 18.0.1 version, it has a hot-key of 'o' instead ... I don't think I intentionally changed it, but T makes more sense so I don't particularly care.

But if I allow beta 2 to upgrade my 18.0.1 configuration, then the View and Tools menus do NOT have a hot key  set, but all the others do. If I go and edit the _mdi_menu and add a hot-key of V and T respectively and save, the View menu now has a hot key of 'i' while the Tools menu still has no hot key. Should I attach any specific 18.0.1 config file to help debug?

Clark

  • Moderator
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4611
  • Hero Points: 365
Re: B1: No top-level menu hotkeys
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2014, 09:00:48 pm »
One problem that's unlikely to be fixed is the following. Install beta 1. Beta 1 will mess up your MDI menu hot-keys. Install beta 2. It will use the messed up _mdi_menu.

Other problems need to be fixed though.

jnairb

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 204
  • Hero Points: 11
Re: B1: No top-level menu hotkeys
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2014, 09:07:35 pm »
I deleted my beta 1 19.0.0 config directory before doing anything with beta 2. So that's not the problem.

jnairb

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 204
  • Hero Points: 11
Re: B1: No top-level menu hotkeys
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2014, 04:57:04 pm »
Just upgraded to Beta 3. I deleted my 19.0.0 config directory and let beta 3 upgrade from my 18.0.1 directory.

I still have the problem where both the View and Tools menu have no hot-keys defined. And if I try to edit the _mdi_menu and set them to '&View' and '&Tools', the View menu caption becomes 'V&iew' ('i' for hotkey) and the Tools menu caption goes back to just 'Tools' (no hot key).

There seems to be something my 18.0.1 that's throwing it off. If I let beta 3 create a new config (not upgrade my 18.0.1 config), then the two menus have hot-keys.

I do have some customizations to the menu (nothing to the top level menu though). All of those menu customizations were lost when I upgraded. Is that part of the problem? And should my menu changes have been upgraded?

lambertia

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 382
  • Hero Points: 14
  • I have nothing sufficiently witty to say.
Re: B1: No top-level menu hotkeys
« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2014, 05:11:13 am »
I am also getting this issue with B3 and a brand new config directory.

SlickEdit 2014 (v19.0.0.6 32-bit)

Serial number: FE10194_BETA
License type: Beta License
License expiration: 2014-10-23 12:17:00
License file: /opt/slickedit-19.0.0.6/bin/slickedit.lic

Build Date: September 08, 2014
Emulation: Brief

OS: Linux
OS Version: Ubuntu 10.04.4 LTS
Kernel Level: 3.13.0-35-generic
Build Version: #62-Ubuntu SMP Fri Aug 15 01:58:42 UTC 2014
Processor Architecture: i686

X Server Vendor: The X.Org Foundation
Memory: 81% Load, 10881MB/13279MB Virtual
Shell Info: /opt/slickedit-19.0.0.6/bin/secsh -i
Screen Size: 1920 x 1080, 1920 x 1080

Project Type: Cpp
Language: .h (C/C++)

Installation Directory: /opt/slickedit-19.0.0.6/
Configuration Directory: /space/gbarron/work/mo-strategy/se/sc/19.0.0/


lambertia

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 382
  • Hero Points: 14
  • I have nothing sufficiently witty to say.
Re: B1: No top-level menu hotkeys
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2014, 05:33:18 am »
When I edit the mdi menu the hotkeys don't stick. This is really bad. I hate using the mouse. Is there some other way I can fix it?

lambertia

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 382
  • Hero Points: 14
  • I have nothing sufficiently witty to say.
Re: B1: No top-level menu hotkeys
« Reply #8 on: September 10, 2014, 07:05:15 am »
I note that

vunxs19.0.0.6l.e

Does not have hot keys assigned for the View and Tools menus.

Clark

  • Moderator
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4611
  • Hero Points: 365
Re: B1: No top-level menu hotkeys
« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2014, 01:09:55 pm »
There is a difficult issue on Ubuntu which is why you are seeing this new problem. The Ubuntu Unity menu bar takes over keys. For example, if there is a hot key for &F in the menu and you press Alt+F, SlickEdit will never see this key. The key will just go to the menu bar and SlickEdit has no control over this. The work around is to remove hot keys from menu captions if SlickEdit has a key binding. It's a little more complicated than that but that's the basic idea. This is a new problem in Ubuntu (older versions didn't have this problem).

We will try to make this a little more flexible in the next beta.

lambertia

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 382
  • Hero Points: 14
  • I have nothing sufficiently witty to say.
Re: B1: No top-level menu hotkeys
« Reply #10 on: September 11, 2014, 12:42:27 am »
Hi Clark!

I have installed B3 on ubuntu 10.04 which I think does not use Unity. The problem is occurring there also. Are you sure you're not barking up the wrong tree? Are you sure its not becuase there are not hot keys defined in vunxs19.0.0.6l.e whereas the rest of the menus in there do?

Cheers!
--
Greg.

Clark

  • Moderator
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4611
  • Hero Points: 365
Re: B1: No top-level menu hotkeys
« Reply #11 on: September 11, 2014, 02:37:00 am »
Please test this in the next beta. There are a couple of fixes for this type of problem.

lambertia

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 382
  • Hero Points: 14
  • I have nothing sufficiently witty to say.
Re: B1: No top-level menu hotkeys
« Reply #12 on: September 11, 2014, 03:04:53 am »
Will do! :)

Clark

  • Moderator
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4611
  • Hero Points: 365
Re: B1: No top-level menu hotkeys
« Reply #13 on: September 11, 2014, 12:22:18 pm »
As long as your previous version config files are correct, it should upgrade fine. Be sure to delete the 19.0.0 config directory before running the next beta. Hopefully, after this next beta, you won't have to do that.

lambertia

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 382
  • Hero Points: 14
  • I have nothing sufficiently witty to say.
Re: B1: No top-level menu hotkeys
« Reply #14 on: September 11, 2014, 11:27:37 pm »
All good now! :)