Author Topic: Win64 beta2 not copying config?  (Read 3409 times)

KeisukeIto

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 22
  • Hero Points: 0
Win64 beta2 not copying config?
« on: September 04, 2014, 01:47:22 pm »
Just installed win64 beta2. It didn't seem to copy the previous config at all.

I upgraded from beta1 first and noticed this. So, I uninstalled both beta1 & beta2, and installed, hoping that it would copy the config from SE2013, but no luck.

Please let me know what information you need to investigate this problem.

Dan

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2367
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: Win64 beta2 not copying config?
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2014, 01:50:42 pm »
Can you send me your vusrdefs.e from your config directory?

KeisukeIto

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 22
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Win64 beta2 not copying config?
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2014, 01:58:23 pm »
Here it is...

Clark

  • Moderator
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4893
  • Hero Points: 398
Re: Win64 beta2 not copying config?
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2014, 02:34:13 pm »
Is this vusrdefs.e from the 2013 config directory (v18) or from the 2014 (v19) config directory?

KeisukeIto

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 22
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Win64 beta2 not copying config?
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2014, 03:14:48 pm »
It was from the beta2 (19.0.0).

I'm also attaching the one from 18.0.1 to this post.

KeisukeIto

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 22
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Win64 beta2 not copying config?
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2014, 03:17:33 pm »
In case it wasn't obvious, when I installed the beta1, I didn't have this problem. The config was successfully copied from 18.0.1.

Clark

  • Moderator
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4893
  • Hero Points: 398
Re: Win64 beta2 not copying config?
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2014, 06:27:47 pm »
Just to make sure what's going on here. You installed v19 beta 1 and got your configuration changes. Then installed v19 beta 2 and lost your configuration changes.

If you delete your 19.0.0 config directory and run v19 beta 2, it will try to transfer your configuration changes from v18.x to v19.0.0. Go ahead and try this if you haven't already. Your configuration changes should have been transferred from beta 1 but transferring configurations from a beta to anything is not always reliable (although in this case I would have expected it to work).
« Last Edit: September 04, 2014, 06:56:46 pm by Clark »

KeisukeIto

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 22
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Win64 beta2 not copying config?
« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2014, 06:54:09 pm »
Yes, I was using 18.0.1.2 and installed the beta1. The config was successfully copied.

Then, I installed the beta2 and the config was lost (key mappings, colors and etc.).

I uninstalled both beta1 and beta2, and reinstalled the beta2, but the config wasn't copied from the 18.0.1. However, I didn't delete the 19.0.0 SlickEdit config directory.

Once I deleted the 19.0.0 SlickEdit config directory and reinstalled the beta2, the config was successfully copied this time. So, everything is good now.

Thanks for your help!

Clark

  • Moderator
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4893
  • Hero Points: 398
Re: Win64 beta2 not copying config?
« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2014, 07:00:45 pm »
I'm glad you posted this issue anyway. There still could be a problem here. I'll investigate further.

Sandra

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 754
  • Hero Points: 35
Re: Win64 beta2 not copying config?
« Reply #9 on: September 05, 2014, 01:24:05 pm »
There was a bug where we were losing configuration, including keybindings, between betas.  This will be fixed in the next beta, though you'll need to delete your 19.0.0 config again and allow Beta 3 to migrate up from v18 again (since Beta2 still contained the bug).  After that, you should be good to go.

Thanks for the bug report!

sraffens

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 27
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Win64 beta2 not copying config?
« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2014, 01:48:22 am »
Would "Export/Import Options" work when going from Beta 2 to Beta 3, in stead of deleting 19.0.0 config directory?

Clark

  • Moderator
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4893
  • Hero Points: 398
Re: Win64 beta2 not copying config?
« Reply #11 on: September 07, 2014, 02:06:33 am »
That should work.

KeisukeIto

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 22
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Win64 beta2 not copying config?
« Reply #12 on: September 09, 2014, 03:45:53 pm »
Was under the impression that this has been fixed in beta3, but when I installed beta 3 (in addition to beta 2), the config was lost again.

I got it back by deleting the slickedit config directory of 19.0.0, though...

Sandra

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 754
  • Hero Points: 35
Re: Win64 beta2 not copying config?
« Reply #13 on: September 09, 2014, 04:00:07 pm »
That is correct.  Since the bug still existed in beta 2, going from beta 2 to beta 3 would still be broken.  However, going from beta 3 to the next beta should work.

KeisukeIto

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 22
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Win64 beta2 not copying config?
« Reply #14 on: September 09, 2014, 04:51:41 pm »
Oh, I see. That explains it. Thanks!