Author Topic: Access denied error to slickEdit config and tag files?  (Read 10079 times)

emerkel

• Community Member
  • Hero Points: 0
  • striving to be karma neutral...
Access denied error to slickEdit config and tag files?
« on: February 04, 2007, 06:02:05 PM »
Hi,

I am a noob at slickEdit so this is probably a stupid question, I will take the flames if you can help me.

I keep getting Access Denied errors whenever I try to change a configuration (for example unchecking the box on the Cool Features dialog labled "Show on startup".  The exact error message I get is;

"Failed to save configuration to 'C:\Documents and Settings\emerkel\My Documents\My SlickEdit Config\11.0.2\vslick.sta'.

Access denied"

Additionally I get the same message periodically for tag files. 

No files are marked read only in the slick edit config directory on my machine at the address listed in the dialog, on my home machine this is at "C:\Documents and Settings\emerkel\My Documents\My SlickEdit Config\11.0.2" but I get the same errors on my work machine as well.

I only have one instance of slickedit running and the file isn't open in any other editor/program.

I have lots of questions and am trying to read and search for the answers before I post, but this one I couldn't find and so I am asking for your help.

Thanks

Eddie

emerkel

• Community Member
Re: Access denied error to slickEdit config and tag files?
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2007, 07:55:25 PM »
Ok I think I have figured this out myself and if so I believe it has to do with me having had one or more trial versions installed on my machine and it not getting rid of demo settings before and perhaps not uninstalling cleanly?