Author Topic: Microsoft Excel  (Read 1896 times)

gman

• New Community Member
  • Hero Points: 0
Microsoft Excel
« on: February 13, 2015, 03:34:33 pm »
Hello, I am new to SlickEdit and I purchased the product under the assumption that I could search Microsoft Excel files,  How do I do this without have to change them to text or something.

THanks

Tim Kemp

• Senior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 88
Re: Microsoft Excel
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2015, 03:41:15 pm »
SlickEdit is a programmer's text editor, not a binary file search tool. That said, you can open the Excel file in hex mode and examine it, including searching for contents. Unless you are doing that to help understand the file format while writing a parser, you'll probably be disappointed with the results.

Dan

• SlickEdit Team Member
  • Hero Points: 112
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2015, 04:35:47 pm »
I suppose you could export the Excel file as a comma separated file, and search that with SlickEdit.  I don't know if that helps.

Tim Kemp

• Hero Points: 88
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2015, 04:43:31 pm »
@Dan, I'm pretty sure @gman is looking for some sort of built-in Excel support. He said,
How do I do this without have to change them to text or something.

Dan

• SlickEdit Team Member
  • Hero Points: 112
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2015, 04:52:06 pm »
@Dan, I'm pretty sure @gman is looking for some sort of built-in Excel support. He said,
How do I do this without have to change them to text or something.

Yes, I overlooked this.  Oops.

Clark

• SlickEdit Team Member
  • Hero Points: 341
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2015, 05:10:03 pm »
Interesting.... The Excel ".xlsx" extension is really a Zip file with a bunch of .xml files. I've modified SlickEdit's recognition of .zip and .jar files to include .xlsx files as well for 19.0.2 which will likely be available for beta test next week.