Author Topic: Slickedit and Perforce  (Read 14670 times)

greggman

• Senior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 14
Slickedit and Perforce
« on: February 13, 2007, 03:32:13 AM »
I'm sorry if this ends up being a noob question. I'm new to Perforce and although I've been using slickedit since version 1.0 I haven't ever used the version control support

What I'm trying to do is setup slickedit so it works just like Perforce works in Visual Studio 2005. Basically if I start editing a file I want it to checkout the file automatically.  So far, that doesn't happen for me in. If I start typing in a file I don't have checked out I get a dialog with 4 options, one grayed out, none of which do what I want.

First, I don't want a dialog. Like Visual Studio I just want the file sliently checked-out

Second, the options in the dialog are

1) Check out the latest version

I don't want the latest version, I want permission to edit my local version. Getting the latest version would potentially mean I'd also need the latest version of every other file in the project.

2) Get the latest version

See #1. I don't want the latest version I just want to edit the current version

3) Make file writable

Well, that apparently just lets me edit the file but doesn't actually check it out from perforce so that's not what I want either

4) Save as new file

This is grayed out and also not what I need

Am I doing something wrong? Do I have something setup wrong?

Thanks

-gregg

Matthew

• SlickEdit Team Member
  • Hero Points: 44
Re: Slickedit and Perforce
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2007, 05:55:43 AM »
Are you using the SCC plugin (p4scc), or are you using the command line client version? If you're using the SCC version, then you can only configure it as much as the plugin allows.