Author Topic: Autosave and unnamed buffers  (Read 2095 times)

jporkkahtc

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2201
  • Hero Points: 192
  • Text
Autosave and unnamed buffers
« on: October 08, 2015, 05:48:11 pm »
First, the help text on the option is a bit of nonsense (Options->FileOptions->AutoSave  AutoSave activated):
 
Quote
AutoSave does not save unnamed buffers that are not named
So, will it save unnamed buffers that are named?

Since SaveAll will now save unnamed buffers, shouldn't AutoSave also do this?


I'm curious, why is there the option "Exit slickedit on autosave?"
Possibly a bug: When Slick does the exit on autosave, it opens the "Exiting with Modified Buffers" dialog when there are unnamed buffers.
Seems like an auto-exit should exit without prompting, otherwise whats the point of it?

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5784
  • Hero Points: 461
Re: Autosave and unnamed buffers
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2015, 06:06:31 pm »
AutoSave does save unnamed buffers in v20. Missed this occurrence. There were others in the on-line help.

The "Edit SlickEdit on AutoSave" feature seems to be working as designed. This is supposed to do a normal exit exactly the same as exiting SlickEdit. SlickEdit always prompts to save modified unnamed files but there is an option whether to prompt to name the unnamed files.
« Last Edit: October 08, 2015, 06:17:37 pm by Clark »