Author Topic: Multiline entry inserting a colon malfunctioning  (Read 6097 times)

poboxbrian

• New Community Member
  • Hero Points: 0
Multiline entry inserting a colon malfunctioning
« on: February 17, 2007, 10:47:18 pm »
I've been using SlickEdit 9 for years, and three months ago, a multiline edit that includes a colon malfunctions.  If I hit ^B, select multiple lines, and then try to type ":= Parameter", only the last line will get the ':' included in it.
What I expect:

strParm1 := Parameter "parm1" As String
strParm2 := Parameter "parm2" As String
strParm3 := Parameter "parm3" As String
strParm4 := Parameter "parm4" As String

What I get

strParm1 = Parameter "parm1" As String
strParm2 = Parameter "parm2" As String
strParm3 = Parameter "parm3" As String

Has anyone else ran into this issue and have an idea on how to fix it? Please  ???

jbhurst

• Senior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 33
Re: Multiline entry inserting a colon malfunctioning
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2007, 07:12:41 pm »
The behavior you're looking for is called "Block insert mode".

If you have "Extend selection as cursor moves" checked in Tools | Options | Select Styles, you should get this behavior immediately while you are extending your selection. This works for me with Visual SlickEdit 9.0.4. After the selection is locked (by pressing Ctrl-B again), you need to invoke Edit | Other | Block insert mode explicitly to get into the mode. 

If you don't have "Extend selection as cursor moves" checked, you will need to invoke Block insert mode explicitly.

Outside of block insert mode, typing characters inserts only at the cursor position. This is often useful and is consistent with other behavior of SlickEdit's locked selections.