Author Topic: First Workspace  (Read 5737 times)

Thom Little

• Community Member
  • Hero Points: 2
First Workspace
« on: March 17, 2007, 03:55:57 PM »
I am new to SlickEdit Workspaces and Projects.  I have used SlickEdit for many years to manipulate HTML and ASP 3 folders for numerous websites.  I have always operated out of the Open pane of the main window.

I would like to setup the Project pane of the main window so there would be a tree of websites listed (I assume they would be Projects)

I could navigate among the websites using a menu like …

Workspace
   Project A
      File 1
      File 2
      File 3
   Project B
      File 1
      File 2
      File 3

The thing that is eluding me …

When Project A is made active I want File 2 to be loaded and displayed.

When Project B is made active I want it to hide File 2 and make Files 1 and 3 loaded and displayed.

When Project A is made active I want it to hide Files 1 and 3 and make File 2 loaded and displayed.

What do I have to do to achieve this?

... Thom

Tim Kemp

• Senior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 92
Re: First Workspace
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2007, 11:56:31 AM »
The behaviour you want is what you get when you switch between workspaces.  If there is a way to get that sort of behavior when switching between projects I'm not aware of it.  Most of my workspaces have a single project.

Thom Little

• Community Member
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2007, 12:46:42 PM »
Thanks for the reply.

Yes ... in SlickEdit terms ... what I am looking for is the ability to display multiple workspaces in the tree structure of the Project pane of the SlickEdit main window.

This was possible in another (unnamed) editor but I have now been able to figure out how to do it in SlickEdit.

Have you found a technique to do it?

... Thom

Wanderer

• Hero Points: 23
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2007, 06:41:50 PM »
It's not pretty, but you could write a _prjopen_xxx handler that:
-- closed all buffers;