Author Topic: printer setup  (Read 2363 times)

n8ik

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 14
  • Hero Points: 1
printer setup
« on: February 05, 2015, 02:26:07 pm »
Running SlickEdit 19.0.1.1 on Solaris. The printer properties dialog box is buried under print preview and defaults to paper size = A4.  Can't get SlickEdit to retain paper size = letter.  Any workarounds?  TIA.

Graeme

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2449
  • Hero Points: 323
Re: printer setup
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2015, 06:35:44 pm »
Why is print preview coming up?  On windows 7 it comes up only if I click the preview button and on the top right hand side the preview window has a "page setup" button that lets me select the paper size.


n8ik

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 14
  • Hero Points: 1
Re: printer setup
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2015, 06:46:29 pm »
I have to select Preview within the print dialog box in order to get to printer properties so I can change the paper size.  It's a pain to do that every time I want to print.  Is there an environment variable I can set?  Maybe this is just a problem with the Solaris build?

Graeme

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2449
  • Hero Points: 323
Re: printer setup
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2015, 01:46:10 am »
It's the same on Windows.  SlickEdit asks your operating system for the default paper size.  On Windows you can change via Devices & Printers -> Printer preferences.  Don't know about Solaris.

Graeme

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2449
  • Hero Points: 323
Re: printer setup
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2015, 02:55:17 am »
You might be able to run this command automatically when you print from slickedit
# lpadmin -p printername -o PageSize=Letter

kfank

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 12
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: printer setup
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2016, 09:51:50 pm »
You might be able to run this command automatically when you print from slickedit
# lpadmin -p printername -o PageSize=Letter

That command does nothing for me.  I have SE 2012 for linux and have endured this problem for years.  Come on SE developers!  How is the code determining the paper size (A4 instead of letter, and default margins of 0.14") and why in the world won't changes to the Page Setup dialog stick?
« Last Edit: March 30, 2016, 09:56:27 pm by kfank »