Author Topic: AutoRestore files  (Read 1043 times)

jporkkahtc

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 1720
  • Hero Points: 170
  • Text
AutoRestore files
« on: July 27, 2016, 06:23:30 pm »
In Tools > Options > Application Options > Auto Restore
If AutoRestoreFiles is off, but all other options in this section are on:
When you close slick and open it again, it restores the workspace, but not the workspace files.


OTOH, with the same configuration, if you close the workspace and then open it again it does restore the files.


#1: This is a little weird that workspace files are auto-restored when you open a workspace once Slickedit is already running, but not when Slickedit opens the workspace as Slickedit is started.


#2: With this configuration, create a new buffer, "Untitled <3>".
Close slick and when prompted select SaveAll.
Restart Slick.


The workspace is restored, but not the open files.
How can I get back that "Untitled <3>" file?


I can open that file in the autosave folder - but that doesn't seem right.




Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4690
  • Hero Points: 378
Re: AutoRestore files
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2016, 07:57:51 pm »
If auto-restore files is turned off, SlickEdit should force you to name and save untitled files.

In your case, you have auto-restore workspace files on when exiting. Seems like files should be restored on invocation. Not sure how doable this is.

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4690
  • Hero Points: 378
Re: AutoRestore files
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2016, 12:57:12 am »
Fixed for beta3.

On invocation, files will be restored if workspace files are restored and the restore file has a workspace to open.

Untitled files must be named exit if on invocation with no parameters files won't restore files due to the settings.