Author Topic: How do you configure sign of pop ups?  (Read 1297 times)

b

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 261
  • Hero Points: 24
How do you configure sign of pop ups?
« on: August 12, 2016, 10:11:25 pm »
I have a config file that had the extension .cfg, but was basically like a Shell file.
So I converted the Document type to Bourne Shell.

One of the lines in the file was:
FS_ENTRY=0x80800000

When I mouse over, it shows it with sign extended value of 0xFFFFFFFF80800000 (with corresponding negative decimal and octal values).   This appears to be an error (taken as a signed 32-bit value and then extended to a 64-bit signed value).

Is there a way to either configure the fly over popups the signedness or bit size of the values?

I ended up having to do my conversion via other means as I didn't find the pop up helpful.

Might I suggest since you already have buttons/tags in the pop up to save to the clipboard, additional ones that would allow toggling the signedness or bit size in the display?

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4560
  • Hero Points: 353
Re: How do you configure sign of pop ups?
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2016, 07:33:12 pm »
We are looking into this

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4560
  • Hero Points: 353
Re: How do you configure sign of pop ups?
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2016, 08:48:21 pm »
What do you think of this picture?

No need to specify sign since both are displayed.

No need to specify number of bits since 32-bits are used when the number fits.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2016, 01:20:17 am by Clark »

hs2

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2735
  • Hero Points: 287
Re: How do you configure sign of pop ups?
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2016, 06:43:31 am »
Great Clark ! Smart sensing the width of the number is a good idea and will likely match most use cases.
(I wonder who on earth deals with octal numbers ???)
HS2

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4560
  • Hero Points: 353
Re: How do you configure sign of pop ups?
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2016, 03:19:11 pm »
Octal isn't that valuable but there's plenty of room in the pop up.

I also added smarts for handling a negative/unsigned 64-bit hex number like 0xFFFFFFFF80000000 or 0x80808080FFFFFFFF. In these cases where the high bit is set, negative and positive values are displayed.

hs2

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2735
  • Hero Points: 287
Re: How do you configure sign of pop ups?
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2016, 09:00:20 pm »
Thanks Clark - definitely worth a ++HP ;D

b

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 261
  • Hero Points: 24
Re: How do you configure sign of pop ups?
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2016, 04:58:56 pm »
What do you think of this picture?

No need to specify sign since both are displayed.

No need to specify number of bits since 32-bits are used when the number fits.

That would work for me and be more useful.  I noticed that the preceeding signextension for the hex and octal have been removed.

+