Author Topic: RC1: goto-parent is not working on my code  (Read 2687 times)

rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2335
  • Hero Points: 132
RC1: goto-parent is not working on my code
« on: September 14, 2016, 04:12:14 PM »
I have sent a sample file, test4.cpp, to support.slickedit.com

Go to line 13254 of test4.cpp, and try "goto-parent"

It does not go to the enclosing brace. "goto-parent" does not seem to work in many locations in this file.

Note that going to the start of the function with "context-prev-tag" does work. Not sure if this is relevant though.

Dennis

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 3955
  • Hero Points: 515
Re: RC1: goto-parent is not working on my code
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2016, 06:22:08 PM »
Big file.  "goto-parent" relies on statement tagging which has a limit.  I'm going to put in a hot fix after the release, but for the time being you can work around this problem by adjusting Tools > Options > Editing > Context Tagging > Maximum size of files for statement tagging (KB).  The default is 512K, your file was 550K.

rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2335
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: RC1: goto-parent is not working on my code
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2016, 06:36:41 PM »
Thanks for letting me know.

Can you tell me what "statement tagging" means?

rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2335
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: RC1: goto-parent is not working on my code
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2016, 06:37:28 PM »
What else relies on "statement tagging" that could be impacted by large source files?

Dennis

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 3955
  • Hero Points: 515
Re: RC1: goto-parent is not working on my code
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2016, 06:42:46 PM »
I should have said statement level tagging.  If you go to the Defs tool window, right click, and select "Show Statements", you'll see what I mean, the entire file is outlined down to the statement level.  Several features, including dynamic surround and a bunch of statement navigation commands (of which, goto-parent is one), make use of this feature.

rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2335
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: RC1: goto-parent is not working on my code
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2016, 06:46:28 PM »
Thanks for the explanation. But how would the hotfix help? Are you going to up the default from 512K or change something else?

Dennis

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 3955
  • Hero Points: 515
Re: RC1: goto-parent is not working on my code
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2016, 06:51:22 PM »
The fix will be to override the limit in goto_parent().

Dennis

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 3955
  • Hero Points: 515
Re: RC1: goto-parent is not working on my code
« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2016, 11:53:40 PM »
FWIW, this fix will be in rc2.