Author Topic: git commands in sub folders with cygwin not working.  (Read 2375 times)

DMadsen

• Junior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 0
git commands in sub folders with cygwin not working.
« on: December 04, 2016, 12:11:02 am »
I am having problems using the git commands within slickedit for files that are in folders other than the root for the repository. I am using cygwin for git. It appears the path is not getting sent to git correctly.
Any suggestions?

jporkkahtc

• Senior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 184
  • Text
Re: git commands in sub folders with cygwin not working.
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2016, 01:45:12 am »
Have you tried using non-cygwin git for windows?
Thats what I've been using, and it works great.

DMadsen

« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2016, 03:03:47 pm »
Yes, I confirmed that git for Windows works fine. I have been using cygwin for other reasons for several years, have the command line git working very well with cygwin, and did not want to switch or have two different environments to utilize the git features in SlickEdit.

Dan

• SlickEdit Team Member
  • Hero Points: 137
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2016, 02:14:27 pm »
Let me check on this.  I have tested with the Cygwin Git, but more recently I've used the non-Cygwin one.

mjdl

• Hero Points: 17
  • SE 24.0.2.0 x64 Windows 10 x64 v1909
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2016, 05:47:48 pm »
I am having problems using the git commands within slickedit for files that are in folders other than the root for the repository. I am using cygwin for git. It appears the path is not getting sent to git correctly.
Any suggestions?
I'm not a Git user, but I did try it a few months ago with Slickedit via Cygwin and via the Nuwen MinGW no-installation-necessary unzip-the-file package. (git version 2.8.3.windows.1)