Author Topic: Trying to debug slickedit macro with dsay()... "vs.log" not created  (Read 4847 times)

pieterc

• Community Member
  • Hero Points: 3
Hi everyone,

I'm completely new to Slick-C macros and need some guidance / help.

I'm trying to figure out why icon overlays are not working for SVN and added "dsay()" macros inside "c:\Program Files\SlickEdit Pro 22.0.0\macros\filewatch.e". I loaded the module again and restarted SlickEdit. A "vs.log" file is not created in:
c:\Users\<MY USER NAME>\Documents\My SlickEdit Config\22.0.0\logs

What am I doing wrong? Is there a recommended way to single step / debug "c:\Program Files\SlickEdit Pro 22.0.0\macros\filewatch.e"?

Thanks in advance,
Pieter

Graeme

• Senior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 347
Re: Trying to debug slickedit macro with dsay()... "vs.log" not created
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2017, 10:21:45 AM »
dsay works for me.  At a guess, your call to dsay isn't getting executed.  You could try the slick c debugger and set a breakpoint.  Have you seen the "Slick C programming best practices..." document in the installation docs folder - it doesn't mention the slick c debugger but it has some useful information.

pieterc

• Community Member
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2017, 01:57:53 PM »
Hi Graeme,
Thanks for pointing me towards "SlickCMacroBestPractices.pdf". It helped a lot!
I still have a problem though. As an experiment, I edited "util.e" and added a call to say(), dsay() and messageNwait() inside gui_sort(). I then used "Macro > Load Module... F12" so that "util.e" would be recompiled and added to vslick.sta. I then triggered the function with "Tools > Sort...", but none of the added functions executed  ???
Even though it is explicitly discouraged, how do I change the behavior of macros in "c:\Program Files\SlickEdit Pro 22.0.0\macros" (with the intent of adding debug statements)?
Thanks in advance,
Pieter

Graeme

• Senior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 347