Author Topic: No Objects in Class Window Pane  (Read 3549 times)

dfechser

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 123
  • Hero Points: 0
No Objects in Class Window Pane
« on: October 17, 2017, 06:52:31 PM »
In SlickEdit 2014 I used the Class window pane to travel between functions. Now, in 2017, the Class window pane displays object members only sometimes and not others - this occurs with the same file in the same project.
What do I need to configure to always display the functions for my class? Note that I've changed the filter from "Functions only" to "All members" and back with no effect.
Thanks.

Dennis

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 3954
  • Hero Points: 515
Re: No Objects in Class Window Pane
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2017, 02:42:31 PM »
If you look in the Defs tool window, do the functions show up there?
Can you share an example file where the Class tool window fails?

dfechser

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 123
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: No Objects in Class Window Pane
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2017, 02:51:51 PM »
I do see what I need in the defs tool window.

I cannot really send an example, the class window behavior changes for the same file; I believe that this occurs when I leave the project and then return to the project but have not experimented enough to know for certain. I was assuming there is a new config option that I needed to adjust. :-)

I can certainly use the defs window for this.

Thanks!

Dennis

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 3954
  • Hero Points: 515
Re: No Objects in Class Window Pane
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2017, 03:47:32 PM »
The Class tool window adjusts what it displays by what it perceives to be the current class scope.  So, if your cursor is within a function that is in a class scope, it will show other members of that class.  If your cursor is outside of a function (in global scope), it will show globals in the current file.  If you right-click in the top pane of the Class tool window, there options for class exclusions.  If you right-click in the bottom pane, there are options for auto-expanding.  You may want to verify these things are set the way you want them.

dfechser

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 123
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: No Objects in Class Window Pane
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2017, 04:09:40 PM »
That doesn't seem to be the case here. I'm editing a SystemVerilog file containing a single class. As an experiment I set "QuickFilters" to "Show all members", I checked everything in "ScopeFilters", and placed the cursor on the line following the "class" statement. I see nothing.

I tried placing the cursor outside the class and inside a function within the class, all with the same results - nothing is visible in the class pane.

I also tried unchecking all "ScopeFilters" with the same results.

I tried each of the QuickFilter selections and never saw anything.

Earlier today, with this same file, I saw the functions listed when the QuickFilter was set to functions only.

I've attached the file.

Thanks.

Dennis

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 3954
  • Hero Points: 515
Re: No Objects in Class Window Pane
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2017, 04:23:59 PM »
Unchecking the scope filters will filter out results.  You want to have all of them checked.

dfechser

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 123
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: No Objects in Class Window Pane
« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2017, 04:36:12 PM »
I tried it both ways.

Dennis

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 3954
  • Hero Points: 515
Re: No Objects in Class Window Pane
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2017, 04:52:47 PM »
Your example works well for me.  Is there any chance you have changed the List Members limit to 0?  Right click in the Class tool window and select "Increase/Decrease List Members limit".  The default is 1000.  If you set it to 0, then it will show 0 items.  I doubt that is your problem, because then it would never show anything when your cursor is inside a class scope.

Can you give me a screen shot of SlickEdit with showing where your cursor is in the file and the Class tool window with the right click menu up?

dfechser

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 123
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: No Objects in Class Window Pane
« Reply #8 on: October 18, 2017, 05:19:41 PM »
Thanks, I checked and the limit is set to `000.

I just tried the following:
1. Killed the class pane.
2. Reopened the class pane and docked it: Everything in the class was visible.
3. I changed it to "Functions only" and only functions were visible.
4. I switched to a different project.
5. I switched back to my current project: No functions were visible.

The attachment is what I see at step-5 above.

Thanks.

dfechser

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 123
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: No Objects in Class Window Pane
« Reply #9 on: October 18, 2017, 10:16:52 PM »
A typo in my last entry. The limit is set to 1000, not `000.

Dennis

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 3954
  • Hero Points: 515
Re: No Objects in Class Window Pane
« Reply #10 on: October 18, 2017, 10:32:23 PM »
When you switch projects, are you landing in the same source file or a different one?

Do you have Auto Restore workspace files turned off?

dfechser

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 123
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: No Objects in Class Window Pane
« Reply #11 on: October 18, 2017, 10:47:40 PM »
I land on the same file with all file tabs the same as my previous entry.

I don't know where "Auto Restore Workspace Files" is so I can't check it. :-)

dfechser

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 123
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: No Objects in Class Window Pane
« Reply #12 on: October 18, 2017, 10:48:25 PM »
... Found it ... it is turned on.