Author Topic: have some problem on MacOS  (Read 3603 times)

cheng

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 14
  • Hero Points: 0
have some problem on MacOS
« on: October 18, 2017, 12:29:15 am »
I downloaded slickedit pro 2017 MacOS version and required a trial licensed. when running the app have some error information, linkly leak some env var or files permission.

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6068
  • Hero Points: 467
Re: have some problem on MacOS
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2017, 02:17:36 am »
I tried setting LANG=zh_CN.UTF-8 and then starting SlickEdit but I couldn't reproduce this.

I also tried setting the Language Region in system settings to Chinese Simplified (rebooted of course). This also didn't reproduce this problem. My best guess is that this is some sort of encoding detection problem but so far I've had no luck reproducing it.

Have you been able to run SlickEdit Pro 2016 or any version of SlickEdit?

Will SlickEdit Pro 2017 run if you set the Language Region to English? If you don't feel comfortable testing that change, don't do it. I'm just curious if it would make a difference for you.

SlickEdit is clearly unable to open/read files at start up.

Is SlickEdit installed on a local hard drive?

cheng

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 14
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: have some problem on MacOS
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2017, 02:40:55 am »

I tried setting LANG=zh_CN.UTF-8 and then starting SlickEdit but I couldn't reproduce this.

I also tried setting the Language Region in system settings to Chinese Simplified (rebooted of course). This also didn't reproduce this problem. My best guess is that this is some sort of encoding detection problem but so far I've had no luck reproducing it.

Have you been able to run SlickEdit Pro 2016 or any version of SlickEdit?
>> yes, SlickEdit Pro 2016 also have the simulate problem. (Project template file 'plgin://... ' not found  or  Invalid xmlcfg handle )

Will SlickEdit Pro 2017 run if you set the Language Region to English? If you don't feel comfortable testing that change, don't do it. I'm just curious if it would make a difference for you.
>> I changed to English, the proble still on.

SlickEdit is clearly unable to open/read files at start up.

Is SlickEdit installed on a local hard drive?
>> Yes, the MacOS recovered from intenet, before recovered I formated the disk.
    other application running well.

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6068
  • Hero Points: 467
Re: have some problem on MacOS
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2017, 10:06:52 am »
I think the problem is your anti-virus software which doesn't permit files to be read from a .zip file.

cheng

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 14
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: have some problem on MacOS
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2017, 10:16:11 am »
I am not install any anti-virus software

Dennis

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3435
  • Hero Points: 465
Re: have some problem on MacOS
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2017, 02:56:35 pm »
Kind of a long-shot here, but do you have the environment variable QT_PLUGIN_PATH set?  That could potentially interfere with SlickEdit's startup.

Also, how are you launching SlickEdit?

cheng

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 14
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: have some problem on MacOS
« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2017, 03:02:52 pm »
Kind of a long-shot here, but do you have the environment variable QT_PLUGIN_PATH set?  That could potentially interfere with SlickEdit's startup.
>>> yes, not found environment variable QT_PLUGIN_PATH, should I install any package or how to setup it?
Also, how are you launching SlickEdit?
>>> from Finder-->Applications-->SlickEditPro2017[icon]

Dennis

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3435
  • Hero Points: 465
Re: have some problem on MacOS
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2017, 03:54:02 pm »
Nothing to set up.  It could only be a potential problem if you had that variable set and started the 'vs' executable directly from the shell rather than launching the Application package.

Do you just get that one message about "bbmenudown.svg", or do you get a lot of messages about icons not loading?

Do you still have the problem if you launch SlickEdit with a clean config?

Code: [Select]
open "SlickEditPro2017.app" --args -sc /tmp/cleanConfig/

cheng

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 14
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: have some problem on MacOS
« Reply #8 on: October 19, 2017, 10:08:33 am »
Nothing to set up.  It could only be a potential problem if you had that variable set and started the 'vs' executable directly from the shell rather than launching the Application package.

Do you just get that one message about "bbmenudown.svg", or do you get a lot of messages about icons not loading?
>>> a lot of messages.
Do you still have the problem if you launch SlickEdit with a clean config?
>>> yes, have the problem.

cheng

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 14
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: have some problem on MacOS
« Reply #9 on: October 19, 2017, 10:16:47 am »
I'm online now, I installed  TeamViewer on MacOS.
anyone would like help to get information/debug it, send me a message, I give the ID and password to you.
Thanks.

Dennis

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3435
  • Hero Points: 465
Re: have some problem on MacOS
« Reply #10 on: October 19, 2017, 04:09:30 pm »
Could you try this:

1) Bring up SlickEdit.
2) Start Activity Monitor
3) Select SlickEdit from the list of processes on the CPU tab.
4) Click on (i) for information on the selected process.
5) Copy and paste the information under Open Files and Ports and post it here.
    I don't want a screen shot here, I want to see *all* the information to
    verify that your installation is using the correct installed version of Qt.

Also, what version of macOS are you on?  (Apple menu > About this Mac...)

cheng

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 14
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: have some problem on MacOS
« Reply #11 on: October 20, 2017, 12:42:06 am »
MacOS: 10.12.6
attachment is the process info.

cheng

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 14
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: have some problem on MacOS
« Reply #12 on: October 20, 2017, 06:38:50 am »
use this attachments with sample.

cheng

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 14
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: have some problem on MacOS
« Reply #13 on: October 20, 2017, 02:53:16 pm »
I reinstalled MacOS with default lang: English, the problem remain.
I format disk, select file system as: Mac OS Extended (Case-sensitive, Journaled)
Maybe the problem is caused by 'Case-sensitive' ?

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6068
  • Hero Points: 467
Re: have some problem on MacOS
« Reply #14 on: October 20, 2017, 03:07:37 pm »
Case sensitive is most likely the problem.