Author Topic: Don't reuse file tabs when double-clicking search results  (Read 458 times)

Kork

  • Junior Community Member
  • Posts: 8
  • Hero Points: 0
Don't reuse file tabs when double-clicking search results
« on: March 07, 2018, 09:42:10 pm »
When I double-click a search result, the file opens in a file tab.  If I double-click another, it closes that one and opens a new one (or reuses the old one.)

How do I make it not close the old file when clicking a new search result.

So, if there are two search results in two different files, and I double-click each in turn, I want there to be 2 file tabs open.  Currently just one, the most recent one clicked from the search window, will be open.

30 minutes is the max I can search for this solution without pulling my hair out.

Lee

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1189
  • Hero Points: 114
Re: Don't reuse file tabs when double-clicking search results
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2018, 09:49:07 pm »
Options > Editing > Bookmarks > Automatically close visited files, change setting to Off.

Kork

  • Junior Community Member
  • Posts: 8
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Don't reuse file tabs when double-clicking search results
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2018, 02:23:46 pm »
Thank you!

So it's a feature of bookmarking (presumably there are other ways to "visit" a file than clicking on a search result) and not searching or tab windows or file opening.  I knew I just had to find the right buzzwords for it.