Author Topic: Should I have uninstalled before updating?  (Read 250 times)

miffed

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 19
  • Hero Points: 0
Should I have uninstalled before updating?
« on: January 16, 2018, 01:22:20 am »
I installed v22.0.0 earlier and now I installed v22.0.1.
I expected the new version to update the old version, but now both versions are installed.
Should I have uninstalled the old version before installing the new version?
What is the proper way to update?

LBCEi

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 162
  • Hero Points: 11
Re: Should I have uninstalled before updating?
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2018, 04:12:20 am »
A lot of people like to be able to use the old version as they are transitioning to a new version, in case they find issues with the new one.

So, the old version is not replaced by the new version.  Settings are copied over to the new version. They can both be installed at the same time.

If you find that you are satisfied with the new version, you may uninstall the old version if you choose.

miffed

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 19
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Should I have uninstalled before updating?
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2018, 01:18:03 pm »
That sounds great -- thanks!
It might be helpful to add a FAQ or KB article, since this behavior is somewhat uncommon.
The only FAQ I found was "Does the Update Manager install my updates?", which says "Follow the directions in the SlickEdit Updates dialog...", but those directions don't say anything about this.