Author Topic: Reviving old macro notepad.e - push current selection into always-on-top window  (Read 9183 times)

namklak

• Community Member
  • Hero Points: 0
Greetings,
Intro: I'm an embedded C programmer and have used SE for over a decade at different companies, and know almost nothing about the current Slick-C.
I'm trying to revive an old macro I had laying around from who knows what old version of SE.  It is run from the SE command line.  It's supposed to take the currently selected text and copy it into an always on top window.  It fails at runtime with this Slick-C Stack dump:
----
 This property or method is not allowed on this object
notepad.ex 365 notepad()   p_window_id: 259   p_object: OI_LIST_BOX   p_name: editwin
stdcmds.ex 8408 command_execute()   p_window_id: 330   p_object: OI_EDITOR   p_name:
stdcmds.ex 8723 split_insert_line()   p_window_id: 4   p_object: OI_TEXT_BOX   p_name:
----

So in notepad.e, on line 66, it calls copy_to_cursor - this is where it fails.  Method copy_to_cursor is a built-in, so I can't trace it with the debugger.  At least I don't know how to...  So I'm stuck here.

Also, the call stack is kind of hard for me to decipher.  This pops up in SE and I can double click on each entry.  Click on notepad.ex takes me to notepad.e line 66.  Clicking on split_insert_line takes me to that fn where is calls command_execute - so the call stack seem to be reversed?

Please either:
1) help me debug this;
2) tell me what feature is now in the current version of SE that does this so I don't have to use this macro.

Thanks,
-Bob

Dan

• SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 153
It sounds like the current window is something you can't call copy_to_cursor on.

How big is the macro?

Graeme

• Hero Points: 347
If you change OI_LIST_BOX to OI_EDITOR it doesn't crash and sort of works but probably needs some adjustment.
e.g.
      if (_select_type()=='CHAR') {
         editorwid.insert_line('');
      }