Author Topic: Debug memory chops address  (Read 1015 times)

b

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 305
  • Hero Points: 26
Debug memory chops address
« on: July 24, 2018, 12:57:33 am »
I've started setting up the debugging environment for a new embedded environment and I've noticed that I can't see the full address of my memory.  It appears to be chopping off the last 3 hex digits.  I can't seem to grab the column to resize it, nor could I find where to try changing the font for debug windows (As this is a new installation on Windows 10, I left everything to the default).


This appears to be a presentation bug.

SlickEdit Pro 2017 (v22.0.2.1 64-bit)

Serial number: FE10297
Licensed number of users: Single user
License file: C:\ProgramData\slickedit\22\slickedit.lic

Build Date: July 12, 2018
Emulation: Vim

OS: Windows 10 x64
OS Version: 10.00.0 
Memory: 37% Load, 6058MB/16265MB Physical, 8285MB/32530MB Page File, 4210MB/134217727MB Virtual
Shell Information: C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /q
Screen Size: 1200 x 1920

Project Type: Gnuc
Language: .process (Process)
Encoding: Automatic

Installation Directory: C:\Program Files\SlickEdit Pro 22.0.2\ (non-removable drive,NTFS,39924MB free)
Configuration Directory: C:\Users\bkurle\Work Folders\Documents\My SlickEdit Config\22.0.2\ (non-removable drive,NTFS,39924MB free)

Hotfixes:
C:\Users\bkurle\Work Folders\Documents\My SlickEdit Config\22.0.2\hotfixes\hotfix_se2202_11_cumulative.zip (Revision: 11)
^^^ got the latest hot fix as of this writing!


Dan

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2369
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: Debug memory chops address
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2018, 11:12:11 am »
It looks like you can size that column to make it the right size.  Double clicking on the divider at the top should make it the right size.

b

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 305
  • Hero Points: 26
Re: Debug memory chops address
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2018, 04:16:34 pm »
That was the first thing I tried.  Then I tried grab it (never did change cursor to show it was over the divider).

Double clicking the header did nothing.  Double clicking over the divider did nothing.  Moving from 'Location' to 'Content' only changes the color of the title (and I tried to be very slow as to try and see the cursor change...never did).

I repeated this process over the address/data region.  Only colorizes the row with a tool tip showing the address (correctly) and the content.  Double clicking the address does nothing.  Double clicking the data pops up the expected entry to allow changing the contents.   Again, slowly trying to move over from one to the other to see the cursor change so as to grab it (or double click it) never materialized.

Side note, Although the Content never hides (it nicely reformats to the new size, the Text does with no horizontal scroll.

b

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 305
  • Hero Points: 26
Re: Debug memory chops address
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2018, 10:16:31 pm »
This appears to still be a problem with 2018 beta. 

E.g., I can not double click the 'Location' column and have it expand to the correct width, nor am I able to grab the column separator to resize the column, correctly.

SlickEdit Pro 2018 (v23.0.0.2 64-bit)

Serial number: FE35645_BETA
License type: Beta License
License expiration: 2018-10-09 17:00:00
License file: C:\ProgramData\slickedit\23\slickedit.lic

Build Date: July 23, 2018
Emulation: Vim

OS: Windows 10 x64
OS Version: 10.00.0 
Memory: 41% Load, 6780MB/16265MB Physical, 9399MB/18697MB Page File, 4327MB/134217727MB Virtual
Shell Information: C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /q
Screen Size: 1920 x 1040, 1200 x 1920

Project Type: Gnuc
Language: .c (C/C++)
Encoding: Automatic

Installation Directory: C:\Program Files\SlickEdit Pro 23.0.0 Beta1\ (non-removable drive,NTFS,48060MB free)
Configuration Directory: C:\Users\bkurle\Work Folders\Documents\My SlickEdit Config\23.0.0\ (non-removable drive,NTFS,48060MB free)
Migrated from: C:\Users\bkurle\Work Folders\Documents\My SlickEdit Config\22.0.2\


Dennis

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2791
  • Hero Points: 422
Re: Debug memory chops address
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2018, 02:08:45 pm »
This will be fixed in v23 beta2, and I will also add the fix for the next v22.0.2 hot fix.

b

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 305
  • Hero Points: 26
Re: Debug memory chops address
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2018, 04:06:31 pm »
This will be fixed in v23 beta2, and I will also add the fix for the next v22.0.2 hot fix.

Thanks!