Author Topic: attaching two tool windows  (Read 519 times)

wbullaughey

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 73
  • Hero Points: 1
attaching two tool windows
« on: August 11, 2018, 07:57:53 pm »
I'm working in two display mode and have moved the "Search Results" window to the secondary display and now want to put the "Build" window as another tab along with the "Search Results". The top, bottom, left and right click boxes appear on the secondary display but a second set appear on the primary monitor with the middle click box. When I try and move the cursor over to get it on the primary display it disappears.

SlickEdit Pro 2018 (v23.0.0.2)

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4393
  • Hero Points: 328
Re: attaching two tool windows
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2018, 11:36:24 pm »
Post your program information (Help>About SlickEdit>Copy to Clipboard)

wbullaughey

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 73
  • Hero Points: 1
Re: attaching two tool windows
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2018, 11:44:17 pm »
SlickEdit Pro 2018 (v23.0.0.2)

Serial number: FE28611_BETA
License type: Beta License
License expiration: 2018-10-09 20:00:00
License file: /Library/Application Support/SlickEdit/23/slickedit.lic

Build Date: July 23, 2018
Emulation: CUA

OS: macOS
OS Version: 10.13.6
Processor Architecture: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6920HQ CPU @ 2.90GHz 64 bit (8 cores)

Memory: 85% Load, 14070MB/16384MB Virtual
Shell Information: /Applications/SlickEditPro2018.app/Contents/MacOS/secsh -i
Screen Size: 1920 x 1080, 1680 x 1050, 1024 x 768

Project Type: Gnuc
Language: .ads (Ada)
Encoding: Automatic

Installation Directory: /Applications/SlickEditPro2018.app/Contents/
Configuration Directory: /Users/wayne/Library/Application Support/SlickEdit/23.0.0/


Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4393
  • Hero Points: 328
Re: attaching two tool windows
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2018, 02:29:17 pm »
I'm not sure I'm following exactly what you're seeing other than the docking helpers are being displayed in the wrong place.

It is possible for you to dock the Build tool window with the Search Results tool window?

I set up a dual monitor scenario on macOS but haven't recreated this problem.

Clark

wbullaughey

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 73
  • Hero Points: 1
Re: attaching two tool windows
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2018, 02:39:52 pm »
Docking the Build to the Search Results does not work either. This is with the windows to be docked on the secondary monitory. When I switch so the main SlickEdit window is on the secondary and the windows to be docked are on the primary window it works.

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4393
  • Hero Points: 328
Re: attaching two tool windows
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2018, 03:44:19 pm »
SlickEdit thinks you have three monitors (1920x1080, 1680x1050, 1024x768). Do you have three monitors in these resolutions? These resolutions look pretty low.

wbullaughey

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 73
  • Hero Points: 1
Re: attaching two tool windows
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2018, 03:57:19 pm »
Sorry, I was trying a third monitor when I sent the SE clipboard info from About.

My tests today are running on a MacBook Pro with resolution 2880 x 1800
The external display is Dell 1600 x 1200
I currently have the Dell set to be the primary

SlickEdit Pro 2018 (v23.0.0.2)

Serial number: FE28611_BETA
License type: Beta License
License expiration: 2018-10-09 20:00:00
License file: /Library/Application Support/SlickEdit/23/slickedit.lic

Build Date: July 23, 2018
Emulation: CUA

OS: macOS
OS Version: 10.13.6
Processor Architecture: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6920HQ CPU @ 2.90GHz 64 bit (8 cores)

Memory: 84% Load, 13805MB/16384MB Virtual
Shell Information: /Applications/SlickEditPro2018.app/Contents/MacOS/secsh -i
Screen Size: 1600 x 1200, 1680 x 1050

Project Type: (Other)
Language: .adb (Ada)
Encoding: Automatic

Installation Directory: /Applications/SlickEditPro2018.app/Contents/
Configuration Directory: /Users/wayne/Library/Application Support/SlickEdit/23.0.0/
Spill File: /tmp/$slk.wayne.1045

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4393
  • Hero Points: 328
Re: attaching two tool windows
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2018, 04:18:28 pm »
Slickedit is seeing two monitors. One at 1600x1200 and the other at 1680x1050. Are these the resolutions you are using?

I tried changing the order of my monitors but things still work for me. Although, I don't have a MacBook Pro to test on.

Does it help to make the MacBook Pro monitor the primary monitor? I'm just trying to figure out what magic is necessary to make this happen.

wbullaughey

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 73
  • Hero Points: 1
Re: attaching two tool windows
« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2018, 05:04:09 pm »
The MacBook Pro is 2880 x 1800. No idea where the 1680x1050 comes from unless the Mac downsizes to be close to the external monitor.
It works when the primary is the external and fails when the primary is the MacBook.

wbullaughey

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 73
  • Hero Points: 1
Re: attaching two tool windows
« Reply #9 on: August 16, 2018, 05:07:41 pm »
This works correctly for me with Windows 7

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4393
  • Hero Points: 328
Re: attaching two tool windows
« Reply #10 on: August 16, 2018, 05:21:21 pm »
When the primary monitor is the external monitor, does SlickEdit get the right resolution for the MacBook screen? If not, does dragging tool windows work both ways (primary to external, external to primary)?

wbullaughey

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 73
  • Hero Points: 1
Re: attaching two tool windows
« Reply #11 on: August 17, 2018, 11:02:55 am »
The OS X About this MAC reports the display sizes as: 1366x768,3840x2160,2880x1800
The last one is the MAC its self.
A browser based tool (www.infobyip.com/detectscreenresolution.php) says: 1366x786,3840x2160,3360x2100

The OS X and browser tool report in the same order. The SlickEdit looks like it shows in reverse order but also wrong for all but the lowest resolution display.

Dragging on the primary display works, dragging on either non-primary display does not work. In either case on the non-primary display the cross shaped symbol with the box in the middle that lets you put multiple tool windows in the same window shows up on the primary display. If you move the mouse to get to it, it disappears.

SlickEdit Pro 2018 (v23.0.0.2)

Serial number: FE28611_BETA
License type: Beta License
License expiration: 2018-10-09 20:00:00
License file: /Library/Application Support/SlickEdit/23/slickedit.lic

Build Date: July 23, 2018
Emulation: CUA

OS: macOS
OS Version: 10.13.6
Processor Architecture: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6920HQ CPU @ 2.90GHz 64 bit (8 cores)

Memory: 84% Load, 13890MB/16384MB Virtual
Shell Information: /Applications/SlickEditPro2018.app/Contents/MacOS/secsh -i
Screen Size: 1920 x 1080, 1680 x 1050, 1366 x 768

Project Type: Gnuc
Language: .adb (Ada)
Encoding: Automatic

Installation Directory: /Applications/SlickEditPro2018.app/Contents/
Configuration Directory: /Users/wayne/Library/Application Support/SlickEdit/23.0.0/


Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4393
  • Hero Points: 328
Re: attaching two tool windows
« Reply #12 on: August 17, 2018, 05:34:32 pm »
Just making sure I understand exactly what you're seeing.

It doesn't matter which monitor is primary. You can't drag from the primary monitor to the secondary monitor because the visual helpers are drawn in the wrong location.

Dragging to the primary monitor always works and the visual helpers are drawn in the correct location.




wbullaughey

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 73
  • Hero Points: 1
Re: attaching two tool windows
« Reply #13 on: August 18, 2018, 10:42:16 pm »
Sounds like you understand.
I figured out a work around. Do all of the docking on the primary display and then drag the combined docked window to the secondary display.

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4393
  • Hero Points: 328
Re: attaching two tool windows
« Reply #14 on: August 18, 2018, 10:54:11 pm »
do you really have a low res 1366x768 monitor? If you do, try making that the primary monitor and see if you can dock a tool window on the secondary display (not third). I’m really curious if that works.