Author Topic: xretrace, xxutils and a few other things  (Read 18119 times)

rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2336
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: xretrace, xxutils and a few other things
« Reply #30 on: January 22, 2024, 10:25:08 PM »
Thanks Graeme!

Graeme

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2801
  • Hero Points: 347
Re: xretrace, xxutils and a few other things
« Reply #31 on: January 25, 2024, 12:37:30 AM »
Hi Rob

I'm still investigating this.  If it's easy to do could you tell me what setting you have (in the version that goes wrong) for "reset modified lines on save"  - tools -> options -> file options  -> save.

I've always had this enabled so I might not have noticed if there are any problems with it off.

Also in xretrace option settings (command xretrace-options) what do you have for "don't touch line modify flags".  I always have this off so that xretrace can reset the flag so I might not have noticed any problems with it enabled.



rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2336
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: xretrace, xxutils and a few other things
« Reply #32 on: January 25, 2024, 03:11:35 PM »
My "Reset Modified Lines" in tools -> options -> file options  -> save is set to "ON"

"don't touch line modify flags" is checked.

Attached screenshots of both.

I'll turn off "don't touch line modify flags" and see what happens today. Do I need to do anything else besides uncheck that?

rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2336
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: xretrace, xxutils and a few other things
« Reply #33 on: January 25, 2024, 03:48:26 PM »
First time I tried "xretrace_cursor_steps" it said xretrace wasn't started, so I said it should start.

After a few minutes it was still taking me to the wrong markers even though I unchecked "don't touch modify flags". 

Then I clicked the "reset xtrace"

A few minutes later when I try "xretrace_cursor_steps" the menu flashes on the screen and then disappears.

rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2336
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: xretrace, xxutils and a few other things
« Reply #34 on: January 25, 2024, 04:44:41 PM »
"xretrace_cursor_steps" doesn't disappear anymore but when I go <left> and <right> it takes me to the wrong places.

I think it is taking me to the right files but it is going to the wrong lines.

Graeme

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2801
  • Hero Points: 347
Re: xretrace, xxutils and a few other things
« Reply #35 on: January 25, 2024, 07:07:37 PM »
ok, I'll try with more files open.

Are you using V28.0.1 ?

rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2336
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: xretrace, xxutils and a few other things
« Reply #36 on: January 25, 2024, 07:09:17 PM »
I'm using 28.0.0.6 with hotfixes, didn't know 28.0.1 existed until reading your message will update to that.

rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2336
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: xretrace, xxutils and a few other things
« Reply #37 on: January 25, 2024, 07:12:33 PM »
I'm using QT5 version on Linux x64

rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2336
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: xretrace, xxutils and a few other things
« Reply #38 on: January 25, 2024, 07:27:19 PM »
Installed 28.0.1 QT5 linux x64 and re-installed the plugin.

Now whenever I do 'xtrace-cursor-steps' it says "xtrace is not running. Start xretrace now?". I click Yes.

But then when I subsequently do 'xtrace-cursor-steps' it says it isn't running and asks me again to start it.

Graeme

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2801
  • Hero Points: 347
Re: xretrace, xxutils and a few other things
« Reply #39 on: January 25, 2024, 07:31:27 PM »
ok, uncheck "retrace delayed start" in the options if not already.

I'm using windows, i'll see if I can repro there then maybe try Linux.

rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2336
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: xretrace, xxutils and a few other things
« Reply #40 on: January 25, 2024, 07:45:40 PM »
"retrace delayed start" has been unchecked the entire time and each time I do 'xtrace-cursor-steps' it says "xtrace is not running. Start xretrace now?". I click Yes.

Graeme

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2801
  • Hero Points: 347
Re: xretrace, xxutils and a few other things
« Reply #41 on: January 25, 2024, 07:52:54 PM »
ok, I would suggest make a trivial change to xretrace.e then reload it, then restart slickedit.
So far I can't repro any problems on Windows.

rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2336
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: xretrace, xxutils and a few other things
« Reply #42 on: January 25, 2024, 08:10:37 PM »
Just tried trivally changing xretrace.e, reloading it, restarting SE, then each time I do 'xretrace-cursor-steps' says it isn't running and asks if I want to start it.

Graeme

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2801
  • Hero Points: 347
Re: xretrace, xxutils and a few other things
« Reply #43 on: January 25, 2024, 08:20:18 PM »
If you feel like it, add the "say" line below to see which variable is going wrong.
Also try a brand new empty config folder sometime.
Maybe check that you have same source as in github
https://github.com/jporkka/slickMacros/tree/master

static bool check_xretrace_is_running()
{
   if (xretrace_not_running || !retrace_timer_callback2_has_started) {
      say("chkrun  " :+ xretrace_not_running :+ "  " :+  retrace_timer_callback2_has_started );

rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2336
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: xretrace, xxutils and a few other things
« Reply #44 on: January 25, 2024, 09:54:36 PM »
I downloaded the plugin from github in November, so I think I have the right one.

I added the say statement, loaded xretrace.e, restarted SE.

Then I ran xretrace-cursor-steps 3 times.

What I see in the "say" window for these 3 attempts are:

chkrun 1 1
chkrun 0 0
chkrun 0 0