Author Topic: way to open directory as 'project' or 'workspace?  (Read 3539 times)

ealbers

• Community Member
  • Hero Points: -7
way to open directory as 'project' or 'workspace?
« on: March 11, 2018, 11:44:42 AM »
I've been using visual studio code side by side with slickedit a bit, as it does one thing (and really only one) which slickedit does not seem able to do...
With VSCode, you can open a directory.  This then creates a project/workspace like list of all files under that directory which you can then quickly open/close by clicking on them.
Even better, you can search the entire directory tree's files for a term.

I've been using slickedit for oh, at least 15 years, can it do this?
Thanks!

Dan

• SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 153
Re: way to open directory as 'project' or 'workspace?
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2018, 01:48:39 PM »
Have you looked at File>File Manager.  This isn't going to be exactly what you want but might get you in the ballpark.

Is there a reason multi-file search won't work for second issue?

ealbers

• Community Member
  • Hero Points: -7
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2019, 02:59:07 PM »
The File Manager really isn't a solution,
its funny its now over a year from my question and I forgot I had asked it, so I was googling to see if slickedit could open a folder again and came across my own question....

Seriously, get a copy of visual studio code...its free, try opening a folder at the top of a dir with lots of levels and cpp files, and see how trivially easy it makes quickly getting stuff done....
Slickedit allows easy opening of tiled windows (I use brief emulation), and really, the tiled windows is the only reason I still use slickedit, since no other editor is able to do it.....