Author Topic: Help stopped working  (Read 316 times)

beni.falk

  • Junior Community Member
  • Posts: 9
  • Hero Points: 1
Help stopped working
« on: February 03, 2020, 11:23:59 am »
I am using SlickEdit Pro 2019 x64 (24.0.1.0) on Windows 10.
At some point the help system stopped working. That is, it shows blank screens. This occurs when I invoke help from the menu or press F1 or issue the help command from the command line.

This definitely worked until recently.

I tried reinstalling SlickEdit and it didn't help.

What could be the problem?

Thanks,

beni.falk

  • Junior Community Member
  • Posts: 9
  • Hero Points: 1
Re: Help stopped working
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2020, 12:56:33 pm »
Additional information - this problem also occurs when I invoke SlickEdit Help from Windows start menu.

I also tried to manually invoke the help function from a command window:
"C:\Program Files\SlickEdit Pro 24.0.1\win\assistant.exe" -collectionFile "C:\Program Files\SlickEdit Pro 24.0.1\help\slickedit5.qhc"

and the behavior was the same.

The collection file definitely exists in that directory.

beni.falk

  • Junior Community Member
  • Posts: 9
  • Hero Points: 1
Re: Help stopped working
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2020, 01:47:46 pm »
This gets stranger and stranger.

I have renamed slickedit5.qch and slickedit5.qhc to slickedit.* and I can now invoke help from the Windows command line (!).
Obviously, when I try to invoke help from within SlickEdit it complains about not finding slickedit5.qhc.

What is going on here?

Dennis

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2938
  • Hero Points: 438
Re: Help stopped working
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2020, 03:09:39 pm »

beni.falk

  • Junior Community Member
  • Posts: 9
  • Hero Points: 1
Re: Help stopped working
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2020, 01:54:01 pm »
That solved the problem.

Thanks!

By the way,  I would suggest removing this folder during SlickEdit uninstall (or install).

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5178
  • Hero Points: 429
Re: Help stopped working
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2020, 06:55:10 pm »
This happens randomly. Nothing to do with installing a new version.

I'm starting to think there needs to be a Delete Qt Cache menu item on the Help menu. You don't want to delete it all the time because Qt help builds a search database which can take a while.