Archived Beta Discussions > SlickEdit 2020 v25 Beta Discussion

Issue editing files on network share

(1/3) > >>

djmuoio:
I am currently trying out the 2020 Beta and have used Slickedit for many years.  My prior purchase was the 2015 version.  I was disappointed to see that the latest beta still has an annoying behavior when editing files from a network share.  Here is the scenario.

1. I am using the Mac variant of Slickedit
2. I often edit files on other computers using SMB or AFP protocol.  A common use case for me is editing Android AOSP source on a Linux build box.
3. My preferred configuration with Slickedit is to automatically load the files from the previous session as well as using different Projects and Workspaces.  It is a great way to continue where I left off the previous day.

As long as I establish the network share BEFORE launching Slickedit, then all is good.  However if I forget to connect to the remote computer and launch Slickedit, then it cannot open the files from the previous session.  Makes obvious sense, however there is no way that I know of to re-establish the network connection and make Slickedit retry to load the files.  At this point I have to manually locate and open the files I had open before.  When working with very large source trees, this is a hassle. 

My typical usage is editing files on other computers using network shares.  At one point I used to spend the time to create Projects and Workspaces since they are very useful and convenient.  Because Slickedit gets amnesia if the network share is not there (or drops out), I stopped using those features.

I would love if Slickedit would retain its list of previously open files even if it cannot locate them.  If it can't open the file, then prompt me and allow me to re-establish network connection or otherwise point it at the new location.  The list of files to open should only be trimmed if I explicitly close a file or choose to forget about it.

jc44:
I too have been caught by this one a lot due to an unreliable remount from my win m/c to my samba server (which appears to have just got better with the latest Win10) and it annoyed me every time it happened too.  I'm not sure what I think the correct behaviour is - in particular I'm not sure what should happen when trying to display buffers attached to unavailable files - I guess a grey window with "File Unavailable" in the middle is as good as I could hope for with some method of retrying the open.

djmuoio:
Bumping this issue.  I would love to see a response from someone at SlickEdit even if something can't be done for the 2020 release.

Clark:

--- Quote from: djmuoio on August 13, 2020, 04:43:31 pm ---I would love if Slickedit would retain its list of previously open files even if it cannot locate them.  If it can't open the file, then prompt me and allow me to re-establish network connection or otherwise point it at the new location.  The list of files to open should only be trimmed if I explicitly close a file or choose to forget about it.

--- End quote ---

I don't think it would be that hard to prompt to re-establish your network connection and retry. At the moment, there's isn't a good way to keep (not close) a file that can't be accessed during auto-restore.

Graeme:
Slickedit has some commands that let you save / restore stuff
save-named-files  - saves list of currently open files
save-named-state  -  save lots of stuff
save-named-layout  - saves toolwindow layout

plus load-named-files, load-named-state and load-named-layout.
It wouldn't be hard to set it up to automatically prompt to save the current list of open files when you close slickedit.


Navigation

[0] Message Index

[#] Next page

Go to full version