Author Topic: In DiffZillaPro what does "Re-Diff" do?  (Read 593 times)

greggman

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 279
  • Hero Points: 14
In DiffZillaPro what does "Re-Diff" do?
« on: August 27, 2020, 08:17:18 am »
At the bottom of the window of DiffZilla Pro there are buttons, "Close", "Next Diff", "Prev Diff" "Options...", "Re-Diff", ...

I thought "Re-Diff" would reload the files from disk and diff them again but that's not what it appears to do

At a prompt I do this

Code: [Select]
echo "foo" > a.txt
echo "bar" > b.txt

Then I diff a.txt and b.txt



And it shows the expected diff



Back the at command line I type

Code: [Select]
echo "foo" > b.txt

so now they match. In DiffZilla I click "Re-Diff"



a quick dialog appears saying "Diff Progress" but then everything is the same. It didn't reload from disk



If I completely exit DiffZilla and re-run it then I finally get "Files Match, view them away?"

What is "Re-Diff" supposed to do? And is there any way I can get DiffZilla to reload in place? I'm working on something where I need to compare the output the expected output and so I want to cycle through run-tool -> diff output -> fix tool -> repeat so it would be really useful if there was a way to reload the files and diff

Thanks

Dan

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2679
  • Hero Points: 143
Re: In DiffZillaPro what does "Re-Diff" do?
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2020, 12:41:05 pm »
Re-Diff is so that if you have changed something in the difference editor and it has become harder to read, you can click Re-Diff and it will start over.

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6126
  • Hero Points: 470
Re: In DiffZillaPro what does "Re-Diff" do?
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2020, 03:44:35 pm »
Also, you can change options and re-diff.

greggman

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 279
  • Hero Points: 14
Re: In DiffZillaPro what does "Re-Diff" do?
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2020, 02:53:43 am »
Is there any way to "refresh" (reload the files and diff again) without exiting and starting over? It would be so much faster for my workflow


Dan

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2679
  • Hero Points: 143
Re: In DiffZillaPro what does "Re-Diff" do?
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2020, 03:02:57 am »
I am going to have to file a defect for this.  This actually might be a tricky case.

JimmieC

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 471
  • Hero Points: 16
Re: In DiffZillaPro what does "Re-Diff" do?
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2020, 05:19:29 pm »
>> Is there any way to "refresh" (reload the files and diff again)

I do this often in Beyond Compare. It has a "Reload" button on the toolbar. So, yeah, this is a worthwhile feature.