Author Topic: Autosave untitled files leftovers  (Read 226 times)

jporkkahtc

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2195
  • Hero Points: 192
  • Text
Autosave untitled files leftovers
« on: April 09, 2021, 07:28:48 pm »
There is a leak of "Untitled" files - finally figured this one out!

Untitled files are kept in the config path, e.g.: %SLICKEDITCONFIG%\25.0.0\autosave\Untitled*
Full paths to these files are kept in workspace *.VPWHIST files.

When I upgrade to the next version of slick (from 25.0.0 to 25.0.1), existing workspaces keep full paths to these untitled files, but the untitled files are also copied into the config\autosave directory for the new version of slickedit.

After upgrading, if I open an old workspace and modify one of its untitled files, then close the workspace, the original untitled file in the old config folder is modified.

When I close an older untitled file, the file is removed from the 25.0.0\autosave, but it remains in the 25.0.1\autosave

Code: [Select]
>dl "Untitled 2020-11-11 1437"  /s
       93973 04/09/2021 12:11:52 %SLICKEDITCONFIG%\25.0.0\autosave\Untitled 2020-11-11 1437
       93973 11/23/2020 18:36:28 %SLICKEDITCONFIG%\25.0.1\autosave\Untitled 2020-11-11 1437
Modify the Untitled file, and see the date update in 25.0.0
Code: [Select]
>dl "Untitled 2020-11-11 1437"  /s /od
       93994 04/09/2021 12:12:47 %SLICKEDITCONFIG%\25.0.0\autosave\Untitled 2020-11-11 1437
       93973 11/23/2020 18:36:28 %SLICKEDITCONFIG%\25.0.1\autosave\Untitled 2020-11-11 1437

Closed the Untitled file, and see the file removed from 25.0.0, but remains in 25.0.1
Code: [Select]
>dl "Untitled 2020-11-11 1437"  /s /od
       93973 11/23/2020 18:36:28 %SLICKEDITCONFIG%\25.0.1\autosave\Untitled 2020-11-11 1437


Presumably, the same problem applies to named files in the autosave folder.

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5779
  • Hero Points: 461
Re: Autosave untitled files leftovers
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2021, 08:21:09 pm »
Good catch!

Untitled files (and autosave files) should be stored in an unversioned directory like backup history. Then this won't continue to happen. We will fix this for 25.0.2. We will need to make sure the old versioned "autosave" directory is not copied when 25.0.2 upgrades the config.