Author Topic: Issues in build window after manually sshing to build machine there  (Read 6783 times)

rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2214
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: Issues in build window after manually sshing to build machine there
« Reply #60 on: June 03, 2022, 03:29:32 pm »
FYI I'm using Patrick's commit:  https://community.slickedit.com/index.php/topic,18828.msg74731.html#msg74731 which has build date May 9, 2022.

I'm also using Qt5 version.

Maybe something with this commit makes it happen more?

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6402
  • Hero Points: 499
Re: Issues in build window after manually sshing to build machine there
« Reply #61 on: June 03, 2022, 03:58:40 pm »
It’s just a timing dependent problem.

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6402
  • Hero Points: 499
Re: Issues in build window after manually sshing to build machine there
« Reply #62 on: June 03, 2022, 11:40:20 pm »
Here's a new Qt5 installer of 26.0.2 with debug and the mods I thought of.

http://support.slickedit.com/outbound/2602/se_26000201_linux64qt5-2022-06-03.tar.gz


rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2214
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: Issues in build window after manually sshing to build machine there
« Reply #63 on: June 04, 2022, 02:43:19 pm »
Thanks so much Clark! I will try it out.

Will it still fill up memory and I have to eventually exit it because consuming too much memory?

Or did you take care of that? You mentioned truncating the data in a previous post.

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6402
  • Hero Points: 499
Re: Issues in build window after manually sshing to build machine there
« Reply #64 on: June 04, 2022, 02:56:05 pm »
There is truncation in this one. If memory gets too large let me know and I’ll truncate it more. I shouldn’t need that much history as long as you exit when you get a debug message telling you to exit because a bug was found.

rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2214
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: Issues in build window after manually sshing to build machine there
« Reply #65 on: June 04, 2022, 11:11:55 pm »
After firing it up and doing a few builds it crashed during a next build.

Look for crash_2022_06.tar.xz on support for the core dump file and user.cfg.xml

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6402
  • Hero Points: 499
Re: Issues in build window after manually sshing to build machine there
« Reply #66 on: June 05, 2022, 12:53:17 pm »
Messed up on truncation. Try this Qt5 installer of 26.0.2:

http://support.slickedit.com/outbound/2602/se_26000201_linux64qt5-2022-06-05.tar.gz

This installer has more truncation.


rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2214
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: Issues in build window after manually sshing to build machine there
« Reply #67 on: June 07, 2022, 03:21:14 pm »
Unfortunately it is not reproducing :( Did you add something else besides debug, or only debug?

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6402
  • Hero Points: 499
Re: Issues in build window after manually sshing to build machine there
« Reply #68 on: June 07, 2022, 06:17:47 pm »
Besides debug, there is an additional fix but this fix was also in the build that Patrick made for you for Python.

rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2214
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: Issues in build window after manually sshing to build machine there
« Reply #69 on: July 13, 2022, 09:01:44 pm »
FYI: I am seeing this issue in 26.0.3.1 build date June 30. I see the <SOH> doing a  build without even sshing in.

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6402
  • Hero Points: 499
Re: Issues in build window after manually sshing to build machine there
« Reply #70 on: July 14, 2022, 10:22:48 pm »
Here's a process buffer debug build for 26.0.3 that truncates quite a bit to reduce the size of the data:

http://support.slickedit.com/outbound/2603/se_26000301_linux64qt5-2022-07-14-process-dbg.tar.gz

I'm still hoping we get some debug data for this. With more truncation, maybe the timing won't be thrown off as much.

rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2214
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: Issues in build window after manually sshing to build machine there
« Reply #71 on: September 22, 2022, 06:19:07 pm »
Still seeing this issue in v27 beta3. I didn't do much building in v26.0.3 past few months so not sure if I didn't catch it with the debug version due to not using it, or if it really wasn't caught with the debug version. I did start doing builds again today.

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6402
  • Hero Points: 499
Re: Issues in build window after manually sshing to build machine there
« Reply #72 on: September 22, 2022, 06:34:46 pm »
I'll build a debug version once v27 is finished.

rowbearto

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2214
  • Hero Points: 132
Re: Issues in build window after manually sshing to build machine there
« Reply #73 on: October 01, 2022, 03:44:23 pm »
I think I start seeing this after I open the process buffer and move around in it, but I'm not sure. I haven't tried to systematically repro it this way (don't have time) but I was trying to observe what I do just before the <SOH> start coming out. I typically open process buffer by executing below macro (tied to right clicking in Build tool window at the line of an error in the small build window):

Code: [Select]
// https://community.slickedit.com/index.php?topic=16731.new;topicseen#new
_command void goto_editor_window_from_build() name_info(',')
{
   int pl = p_line;
   edit ("+b  Build (.process)");
   goto_line(pl);
}

I also see that the Build Tool window menu item of "Send output to editor window" uses 'toggle-process-tab-output'

Is there any possibility that using

edit ("+b  Build (.process)");

Instead of

toggle-process-tab-output

and then jumping around in the big process buffer looking at things and searching

Could be causing these <SOH> characters to come out on the build window sometime after using the edit() function?

Note: This happens even if I never ssh into the build server first from the Build window. I've been avoiding the ssh and I still see these <SOH> in my build after a while.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2022, 03:53:50 pm by rowbearto »