Author Topic: Go to definition does not activate target window.  (Read 382 times)

rdauben

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 32
  • Hero Points: 0
Go to definition does not activate target window.
« on: October 26, 2022, 07:26:09 pm »
SlickEdit Pro 2022 (v27.0.0.6 64-bit Qt5)

I'm using floating windows.  If I go to a function definition (Ctrl+.) that is in a different file, and that file is already open in another tab, then that window is brought to the front, but it is not activated.  I must click inside to see where the cursor is.

patrick

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1762
  • Hero Points: 148
Re: Go to definition does not activate target window.
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2022, 02:46:49 pm »
What platform?  And if it's linux, (1) what does Help -> About report for the Display manager and the Window manager? and (2) are you sitting at the linux box SlickEdit is running on, or connecting remotely with something like VNC?

 

rdauben

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 32
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Go to definition does not activate target window.
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2022, 02:56:31 pm »
I'm running locally on a Windows 10 PC:

SlickEdit Pro 2022 (v27.0.0.6 64-bit Qt5)

Serial number: WB36xxxx
Licensed number of users: Single user
License file: C:\ProgramData\slickedit\27\slickedit.lic

Build Date: October 18, 2022
Emulation: CUA

OS: Windows 10 x64
OS Version: 10.00.0 
Memory: 40% Load, 13065MB/32167MB Physical, 15787MB/37031MB Page File, 5028MB/134217727MB Virtual
Shell Information: C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /q
Screen Size: 1920 x 1080 (0 0 1920 1080), 1920 x 1080 (-1920 9 1536 864)

Project Type: Gnuc
Language: .h (C/C++)
Encoding: ACP (1252)


The problem is only when the target file is already open in another window.  If the target file is not open, then it will be opened and activated as expected.

Thanks.
Ron

patrick

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1762
  • Hero Points: 148
Re: Go to definition does not activate target window.
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2022, 12:07:38 pm »
I haven't reproduced it yet.  Can I get your user.cfg.xml file from your configuration directory?   There isn't a setting that should make it do what you're seeing, but I'm wondering if some configuration difference is contributing to the problem - so maybe I'll be able to reproduce with your config.

rdauben

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 32
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Go to definition does not activate target window.
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2022, 02:34:28 pm »
My file is attached.

More info - The target file must be in the same floating window in another tab.  If the target is in a different floating window, then it works okay.

patrick

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1762
  • Hero Points: 148
Re: Go to definition does not activate target window.
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2022, 04:55:44 pm »
Hmm, I couldn't reproduce with your configuration either. 

I've tried some different setups, I'm wondering if I'm getting your layout wrong.  I've tried variations with the tabs being split between main and floating windows in different combinations with no luck. I took your last comment to mean the file you are editing and the file that holds the tag you will push-tag to are a couple of tabs in the same floating window?   Is that right, or am I missing something?

rdauben

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 32
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Go to definition does not activate target window.
« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2022, 03:23:15 pm »
Yes, that's right, two tabs in the same floating window.

The previous SE 2021 version did not have this problem for me.

If you cannot reproduce my issue, then I must have something strange in my setup.  I will just have to live with it, not a big deal.

Thanks.
Ron

patrick

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1762
  • Hero Points: 148
Re: Go to definition does not activate target window.
« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2022, 03:13:17 pm »
Ok.  I've a couple more things I want to try today, hopefully I'll be able to reproduce. 

Bit of a reach, but do you have anything like any of the Windows Power Toys installed?
 

rdauben

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 32
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Go to definition does not activate target window.
« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2022, 03:31:04 pm »
Sorry, I just saw your reply. It was in my junk folder!
No, I do not have the Power Toys installed on my PC.
Thanks.
Ron

rdauben

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 32
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Go to definition does not activate target window.
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2022, 04:53:20 pm »
Hey, Patrick.

I've resolved this issue.  I re-ran the installation file with the "Repair" option and it is working correctly now.  Don't know what was corrupted or how it got that way.

Thanks.
Ron

patrick

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1762
  • Hero Points: 148
Re: Go to definition does not activate target window.
« Reply #10 on: November 18, 2022, 04:58:48 pm »
Very strange.  I'm glad you found that, I was stumped, and wondering if I had missed something.


rdauben

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 32
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Go to definition does not activate target window.
« Reply #11 on: November 21, 2022, 02:02:34 pm »
So my issue came back.  It seems related to when I opened a 2nd instance of SlickEdit with a different active project.  As I switch back and forth between the 2 instances and navigate to various symbols, occasionally the issue presents itself, but not every time.  I think I've only seen the issue in the 2nd instance, but I can't say that I've never seen it in the 1st instance.  It's really weird.  Usually I can simply exit both instances and re-open and the problem is corrected (for a while).

Maybe this will help give you more ideas to check out.

Thanks.
Ron

patrick

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1762
  • Hero Points: 148
Re: Go to definition does not activate target window.
« Reply #12 on: November 21, 2022, 02:41:08 pm »
Interesting. I'll give it a shot with multiple instances, and see what I can find out.  Thanks for the update.