Author Topic: All my buffers were shown as deleted by SE  (Read 929 times)

rjpontefract

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 250
  • Hero Points: 10
All my buffers were shown as deleted by SE
« on: June 02, 2023, 03:31:08 AM »
I was using SE 27.0.2 on Windows 10 with multiple buffers open.  I came to save the file I was working on and a dialog said that it can't save it.  Following that, another dialog box asking to close or save deleted files was presented with a list of all open buffers.  The list of buffers showed all files in red.  Trying to quit SE resulted in being told it could not save preferences. All of the files were on a local disk and were still present and correct according to file manager.  I killed SE from task manager and it restarted OK. 

Any ideas as to what happened?

Dan

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2902
  • Hero Points: 153
Re: All my buffers were shown as deleted by SE
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2023, 01:06:33 PM »
Were they on a remote file system and/or a VPN?

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6910
  • Hero Points: 531
Re: All my buffers were shown as deleted by SE
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2023, 01:14:59 PM »
I haven't seen anything like this. The only time I've had problems saving files is when my backup directory is set to a directory which can't be written to.

Dan

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2902
  • Hero Points: 153
Re: All my buffers were shown as deleted by SE
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2023, 01:39:53 PM »
If anything like this ever actually happened, you could go to File > Backup History Browser.  This would show you all of the files that are available in Backup History.

If you have more than one configuration, you would only see the backups for your current configuration, unless you have a global backup directory path setup.

rjpontefract

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 250
  • Hero Points: 10
Re: All my buffers were shown as deleted by SE
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2023, 12:27:28 AM »
Were they on a remote file system and/or a VPN?
No they were all in a local directory on the local SSD.   

If anything like this ever actually happened, you could go to File > Backup History Browser.
This actually saved me when it happened as the file I tried to save first ended up being 0 bytes on disk.

I'm hoping it doesn't happen again, but, if it does, is there any diagnostic info I can get for you?

Dan

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2902
  • Hero Points: 153
Re: All my buffers were shown as deleted by SE
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2023, 01:04:21 PM »
I have a couple more questions that might help figure out what you might send us.

Were the files on the same logical drive as your configuration?

(I guess that's the only one for now)

Dennis

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 3974
  • Hero Points: 517
Re: All my buffers were shown as deleted by SE
« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2023, 05:07:55 PM »
Were the files on a removable drive, or accessed through a (windows) symbolic link?

rjpontefract

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 250
  • Hero Points: 10
Re: All my buffers were shown as deleted by SE
« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2023, 03:17:20 AM »
Were the files on the same logical drive as your configuration?
Yes, the files were on the same drive as the configuration, this laptop only has a single SSD.

Were the files on a removable drive, or accessed through a (windows) symbolic link?
No, everything was on the local SSD and no symbolic links were present.

When this happened, I was more focused on getting my files back than gathering any diagnostic information.  If it happens again, I'll take a bit more time to see what, if anything, happened to cause it.

Dan

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2902
  • Hero Points: 153
Re: All my buffers were shown as deleted by SE
« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2023, 11:31:54 AM »
I understand about getting the data back first.

It appears that for for just a second, SlickEdit thought the files were not there.  You weren't able to safe your configuration either.  We haven't seen anything else like this.

As this was going on, did you have any trouble with files from any other applications?  I'm not sure how this could happen to only us.

If you go to Tools>Options, under File Options>Load, is Load entire file on?

rjpontefract

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 250
  • Hero Points: 10
Re: All my buffers were shown as deleted by SE
« Reply #9 on: June 06, 2023, 11:07:33 PM »
As this was going on, did you have any trouble with files from any other applications?  I'm not sure how this could happen to only us.


To be honest, I don't have too many other applications open, but, of the ones that were ope,n I didn't notice any issues.  Notably explorer was working OK and confirmed that the files were still there.

If you go to Tools>Options, under File Options>Load, is Load entire file on?
Yes, the load entire file is on

 

Dan

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2902
  • Hero Points: 153
Re: All my buffers were shown as deleted by SE
« Reply #10 on: June 07, 2023, 07:05:59 PM »
I'm not sure what happened.  We have never seen this on a local file system.  It couldn't read or write anything.  If you see this again, I would recommend giving support a call while it is in that state and maybe we can get a better idea what is going on.  It does not seem that the files were ever not there.

rjpontefract

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 250
  • Hero Points: 10
Re: All my buffers were shown as deleted by SE
« Reply #11 on: June 08, 2023, 02:04:02 AM »
Thanks Dan, I agree it's very odd.  If it happens again, I'll get in touch.