Author Topic: command line and scroll bars blacked out  (Read 458 times)

pbrightly

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 60
  • Hero Points: 6
command line and scroll bars blacked out
« on: September 20, 2023, 05:53:22 PM »
I've been experiencing a problem lately where my command-line and scrollbars turn black-on-black.  I can see the cursor when I click on command area, but nothing else.  yellow message text shows up if I click on some other app.

This is on latest Windows 11.
I don't know the root cause yet (well.. scenario that causes it).
Workaround: restart editor

Dan

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2896
  • Hero Points: 153
Re: command line and scroll bars blacked out
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2023, 05:58:23 PM »
Is this 27.0.2?

If you go to Tools>Options, Appearance/Tool Window and Toolbar Options, what is "Button Size" set to?
« Last Edit: September 20, 2023, 06:22:11 PM by Dan »

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6797
  • Hero Points: 525
Re: command line and scroll bars blacked out
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2023, 07:31:21 PM »
Restart SlickEdit. I've seen this happen when monitor settings are changed. We don't have a fix for this.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2023, 11:46:22 AM by Clark »

pbrightly

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 60
  • Hero Points: 6
Re: command line and scroll bars blacked out
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2023, 01:18:30 PM »
Is this 27.0.2?
Yup.
SlickEdit Pro 2022 (v27.0.2.0 64-bit Qt5)
If you go to Tools>Options, Appearance/Tool Window and Toolbar Options, what is "Button Size" set to?
Recently changed to Large -- I was totally missing out on the nice icons, as I couldn't really see them when it was smaller.  Very happy I set to large.

pbrightly

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 60
  • Hero Points: 6
Re: command line and scroll bars blacked out
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2023, 01:21:04 PM »
Restart SlickEdit. I've seen this happen when monitor settings are changed. We don't have a fix for this.
Yeah, that's me... every day lately. We recently got mandated to work from office, so I'm constantly plugging my laptop into different monitors.  I keep 2 at home & 2 at work -- slightly different resolutions.  I use DisplayFusion to put my many windows where I like them after plugging in.  So if that's a problem, I'm going to see it all the time.

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6797
  • Hero Points: 525
Re: command line and scroll bars blacked out
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2023, 03:37:50 PM »
There are probably many ways for this to happen: changing monitors (unplugging one monitor and plugging in another), changing display settings, accessing your work machine through remote desktop after using SlickEdit on your work machine, and even a laptop going to sleep and waking up (this is more rare). The most common is the remote desktop case. I would get this when I remote desktop into my work computer from home. As much as we like Qt, there are some issues we have not been able to work around and this is one of them.