Author Topic: Replace in Files dialog missing "Next"?  (Read 261 times)

jwiede

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 120
  • Hero Points: 12
Replace in Files dialog missing "Next"?
« on: June 03, 2024, 05:01:47 PM »
I know the bit about <ENTER> in Find/Replace fields (and CTRL-R/CTRL-A) as "accelerators", but in latest SE28.0.2 x86_64 LinuxQt5 "Replace in Files" dialog, what I'm not seeing is any GUI-discoverable means of issuing "Next (Match)".  I see no "Next" button or icon equiv. any longer, only buttons for "Replace" and "Replace All". 

Has pressing <ENTER> in Replace text field become the only trigger for "move to next match without replacing current"?    Or is it <ENTER> in "Find" text field that does "Next"?  I can never remember, hence usefulness of GUI-discoverable means -- but if there is such, I can't find it in Replace in Files dialog any longer.  The mini-Find/Replace panel has one, but Replace in Files no longer appears to offer such a button/widget.  What am I missing?

jwiede

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 120
  • Hero Points: 12
Re: Replace in Files dialog missing "Next"?
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2024, 05:15:00 PM »
See attached for screenshot of dialog.

SlickEdit Pro 2023 (v28.0.2.0 64-bit Qt5)
Build Date: April 3, 2024   (State file: June 1, 2024)
Emulation: CUA
OS: Linux
OS Version: Debian GNU/Linux rodete
Kernel Level: 6.6.15-2rodete2-amd64
Build Version: #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Debian 6.6.15-2rodete2 (2024-03-19)
Processor Architecture: x86_64

X Server Vendor: The X.Org Foundation
Window Manager: GNOME Shell
Display manager: /usr/sbin/gdm3

Memory: 34% Load, 8445MB/24806MB Virtual
Shell Information: "/opt/slickedit-pro2023/bin/secsh" -i
Screen Size: 2742 x 1462 (0 0)

Project Type: Cpp
Language: .h (C/C++)
Encoding: UTF-8, no signature

Installation Directory: /opt/slickedit-pro2023/

Hotfixes:
{path omitted}/.slickedit/28.0.2/hotfixes/hotfix_se2802_9_cumulative.zip Revision: 9   (currently loaded)




Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6919
  • Hero Points: 531
Re: Replace in Files dialog missing "Next"?
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2024, 05:23:49 PM »
I'm a bit lost. After you start a modal replace using the Replace in Files dialog, you should see the attached dialog. Once started, the Replace in Files dialog is disabled or not visible.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2024, 05:34:27 PM by Clark »

jwiede

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 120
  • Hero Points: 12
Re: Replace in Files dialog missing "Next"?
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2024, 05:34:39 PM »
Hmm...not the experience I'm having, the big dialog apparently hangs around in some cases.  Keep in mind the first match found will not _always_ be a Replace/ReplaceAll, maybe that's the confusion here?

Let me restate the question:  In a scenario where the first match found to the given Find text is _NOT_ a replace instance, what is the expected use of the "Replace in Files" dialog?  Hitting "Replace"/"ReplaceAll" in that instance definitely is a problem (as either would do a replace on that first found entity).  Or should the "Replace in Files" dialog not even hang around that long?  If the latter, well, that's not what's happening here.

I've had SE exhibit the behavior you describe, where it switches to the second dialog, but that behavior seems to depend on the first match always receiving a "Replace" or "Replace All" response.

Can try to get a screencast later today or tomorrow, but really busy so cannot promise any sooner than EoD tomorrow.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2024, 05:57:24 PM by jwiede »

jwiede

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 120
  • Hero Points: 12
Re: Replace in Files dialog missing "Next"?
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2024, 06:02:27 PM »
To give an example scenario:  You have 100 instances of a tag across a couple buffers, and you need to replace, say, 90 of them with a different tag.  It just so happens the first match found is NOT one of the ones to be replaced. 

What is the expected usage of the "Replace in Files" dialog in that scenario, where you need to skip the first match, but replace subsequent matches?

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6919
  • Hero Points: 531
Re: Replace in Files dialog missing "Next"?
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2024, 07:46:35 PM »
To skip one occurrence, select "No". To skip the file, select "Next file".