Author Topic: How do I *change* an extension to another mode?  (Read 4156 times)

greggman

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 277
  • Hero Points: 14
How do I *change* an extension to another mode?
« on: August 17, 2007, 08:02:29 am »
for example, the .s extension is assigned to "asm390". I want ".s" to use a different mode. This is probably stareing me right in the face but I can't seem to find a way to reassign ".s" to something else. Help

hs2

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2737
  • Hero Points: 288
Re: How do I *change* an extension to another mode?
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2007, 10:04:33 am »
'Tools>Options>File Extension: Advanced tab: 'Refer to...' should do.
Maybe you need to create a 'New...' one.
HS2

greggman

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 277
  • Hero Points: 14
Re: How do I *change* an extension to another mode?
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2007, 06:08:47 pm »
The refer to tab is grayed out.

Picking New.. and typing in "s" I'm told "s" already exists.


Phil Barila

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 742
  • Hero Points: 61
Re: How do I *change* an extension to another mode?
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2007, 06:28:12 pm »
Which extension are you actually looking at?  The attached caps show you what you should see if your installation is still using the defaults.

Ryan

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 986
  • Hero Points: 77
Re: How do I *change* an extension to another mode?
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2007, 07:13:36 pm »
The 'Refer to...' button is greyed out for an extension if anything refers to that extension.  So if you can't 'Refer to...' or 'Delete' 's', then I would think there is something that is referring to 's'.  Once you find that, you can un-refer, and the rest writes itself.

- Ryan

greggman

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 277
  • Hero Points: 14
Re: How do I *change* an extension to another mode?
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2007, 12:46:33 am »
thanks. I think I got it.

StephenW

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 189
  • Hero Points: 21
Re: How do I *change* an extension to another mode?
« Reply #6 on: August 19, 2007, 09:35:13 pm »
If you are mixing languages that use the same extension, then you will quickly tire of manually changing the extension settings all the time.  If you are running into that problem, then you might like to look at the macro I posted that I use to automatically override the default extension settings:

  http://community.slickedit.com/index.php?topic=1873.0