Author Topic: Avoiding having vim deleted text copied to the clipboard  (Read 2611 times)

Ian P

• Community Member
  • Hero Points: 2
Avoiding having vim deleted text copied to the clipboard
« on: August 20, 2007, 06:49:05 pm »
Hi,

I've recently replaced CodeWright, which I've been using as my "vi-mode" editor for the last 10 years or so, with SlickEdit, which I use in vim mode. So far I'm very impressed. There are one or two minor features that I preferred in CodeWright, but generally that's more than made up for by many other things that are better in SlickEdit.

But one thing that I do hate in SlickEdit is that any text that I delete via vim commands gets copied to the clipboard, replacing whatever's in there. Something that I find myself doing quite regularly is to replace some text in one file with something from another, so I go to the 2nd file and copy the text to the clipboard, go back to the 1st file and type a vim command (e.g. something like "dw" or "dd") to delete the text that I want to replace, and then try to paste in the text that I'd copied. But all that does is to paste the deleted text back in, so I then have to swear a bit and start over.

Text that is deleted via the Edit -> Delete menu does not get copied to the clipboard, so why do so with text that is deleted via a vim command?

So, my question: is there some way to turn off that feature so that text deleted via a vim command does not get copied to the clipboard?

Brandon Hamm

• Community Member
  • Hero Points: 1
Re: Avoiding having vim deleted text copied to the clipboard
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2007, 07:54:47 pm »
I fought with this for a bit when I had first started using SE as well.  What I've trained myself to do is instead of executing a 'vi' command like "dw", I'll use the VIM visual mode command to select the word, "vw", then do a "p" to put the text I copied to the clipboard from the other file.

Not really a fix...but after a couple of days, it stopped bothering me.

Brandon