Author Topic: Global Edit window Setting.  (Read 8087 times)

pmgroen

• Junior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 0
Global Edit window Setting.
« on: August 14, 2006, 09:37:09 am »
Hi All,

I'm fairly new to Slickedit (Always used some 'vi' deriverate) and I was wondering if it is possible to have the 'Special Chars' option from the view-menu and the 'Line Numbers' set globally. For every file (Don't work with projects yet) I open, I have to set this again.

Is there a way to do this?

Kind regards,

Peter

Graeme

• Senior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 314
Re: Global Edit window Setting.
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2006, 01:41:18 am »

If you look in the help under tutorials for macro programming  (search for _buffer_add_ViewLineNumbers if you can't find the topic), you'll see it mentions in the section just before that, that line numbers can be enabled for each extension by choosing the Tools > Options > File Extension Setup > General > Display line numbers.

If you record a macro and turn on line numbers and special chars, you'll get the following.

_command show_line_numbers_and_special_chars() name_info(','VSARG2_MACRO|VSARG2_MARK|VSARG2_REQUIRES_MDI_EDITORCTL)
{
   _macro('R',1);
   execute('view-specialchars-toggle');
   execute('view-line-numbers-toggle');
}

In the key bindings dialog you'll see you can bind a shortcut to view-special... and view-line... if you want a quick way to turn on/off.
If you type fp view-specialchars-toggle at the command line you'll see the code for it.

You can use this macro to get special chars shown when you open a new file  - however, this only applies when a new file is opened that wasn't already in the workspace - so if you open a project, the files that are already open in that workspace won't have special chars enabled by the following macro

void _buffer_add_View_SpecialChars()
{
    p_ShowSpecialChars=SHOWSPECIALCHARS_ALL;
}