Author Topic: SlickEdit Tutorials  (Read 31438 times)

acklenx

SlickEdit Tutorials
« on: August 17, 2006, 08:50:37 PM »
Are there any SlickEdit tutorials out there?  In general any repository or list of available tutorials would be great a great resource.

More specifically tutorials along the lines of getting up and developing/debugging in Java with Struts/Tiles would be really nice.  And likewise I would think other common combinations would be helpful for others.

My specific problem arises because I was introduced to SlickEdit by someone, that as soon as I got hooked (about two seconds after seeing the script support), left the company.  So I had no real resource for getting setup up and all the tricks of the IDE and real world functional scenarios.  I'm always the only person using SE (everyone else is on Eclipse - but it's a dog - I just can't stand how slow it is, and it doesn't support my languages anywhere near as well as SE).

I'm a front-end developer that spends most of my time writing javascript and dhtml components that are the tags used in widget driven development (usually anything with tags, jsp, jsf, even some .Net stuff).  Basically I figure out what needs to be generated, and then I make it so that it can be generated (templates, tiles, components, xsl, etc.).  More and more  I'm being pulled towards writing java, which is easy enough (it's a lot more straight forward than javascript), but I don't have SE configured for it.  So it's little more than notepad when it comes to java.  I know it's got power there, but I just don't know how to unleash it.  If I was at least solid in my Java development with experience in other IDE's it might be a little easier to stumble through the setup and find the features that I liked in my other IDE, but I don't know what to look for, or even why to look for it.