Author Topic: Java package view not working  (Read 6785 times)

FullyArticulate

• Community Member
  • Hero Points: 4
Java package view not working
« on: February 18, 2008, 07:08:32 pm »
I'm new to using Slickedit with Java, so it's possible something much more is wrong here...

I have two Java projects--one depends on the other. When I import the smaller project, package view works exactly as you'd expect.

When I import the larger project, it's in some weird not-quite-package view and does not resolve the packages properly. This other mode will not allow me to do simple Java things like right click on a package and select "Add->Class". The menu appears, but nothing happens when it's clicked.

Any suggestions? Thanks!
http://www.engarde.com/broken_package_view.png

ScottW, VP of Dev

• Senior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 64
Re: Java package view not working
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2008, 10:05:17 pm »
Can you provide more details on how you defined the Projects and imported them? One important detail with SlickEdit is that it is absolutely essential that you start off with the right project type. When you select Project > New, be sure you select one of the Java project types. If you select "(Generic)" you will have a hard time configuring things to work as expected.

FullyArticulate

• Community Member
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2008, 11:31:03 pm »
I just made this video so you can see the exact sequence. Ignore the extraneous mouse clicks and just pay attention to the window sequence--Robodemo gets confused pretty easily about mouse events. :-(

« Last Edit: February 18, 2008, 11:32:57 pm by FullyArticulate »

Ryan

• SlickEdit Team Member
  • Hero Points: 77
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2008, 04:04:16 pm »
Well it looks like PositionFileIO is in the correct subdirectory for it's package, so I think Package View should definitely be working for this project.