Author Topic: RCS and SE (ubuntu)  (Read 3846 times)

mcarlson

• Community Member
  • Hero Points: 0
RCS and SE (ubuntu)
« on: August 15, 2008, 07:09:44 pm »
Good day,

I'm new to SE and am coming from xemacs.

I didn't realize until today how often I looked at the status line in emacs to show me information such as who owns the RCS lock if there is one.  Is there any way for me to add this information to the SE status line?

Thank you

Matt Carlson

chrisant

• Senior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 131
Re: RCS and SE (ubuntu)
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2008, 07:30:52 pm »
As far as I can tell, there is not, but I would very much like to be able to add my own status bar "widgets" like the ones in the bottom right corner.

hs2

• Hero Points: 291
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2008, 07:39:53 pm »
This should be possible with a small Slick-C macro command which called via keyboard on demand or added to the button bar which could display this information on the status line (until it's overwritten by another status message).
HS2

Graeme

• Hero Points: 335
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2008, 12:18:15 am »
Apart from on-demand as hs2 suggested, there are some other ways to do it which I suspect would work but I haven't tried them.

The left hand part of the status bar is occupied by a textbox that has a fixed window id referred to as _cmdline.  You could write a one second timer callback that checked if the textbox was blank and if so, wrote a sticky_message to it with whatever info you wanted - or you could append information to the right hand end of whatever was already there.