Author Topic: Error parsing inconsistencies between 'Validate' button and 'Go to Error'  (Read 5008 times)

Bock

• Community Member
  • Hero Points: 0
Hello,

I am rather new to SlickEdit so forgive me if I'm missing the obvious.
We're using version 12.0.3.0 and I was trying to setup error parsing for C++ and a custom script language we use.

The trouble and what gets me crazy is that I get inconsistent results between the 'Validate' button and 'Go to Error' (activated when double-clicking on an error line).
Right now my Error Parsing setup is the following:

- All default categories disabled except 'User'.
- In User I have "Rule A" and "Rule B" (in this order). Both are meant to parse different format of errors. They pass my validation tests.
- I run an application outputting various lines including errors of the kinds I want.
- Double-clicking on an "Error A" line (error of type matched by Rule A) works.
- Double-clicking on an "Error B" line (error of type matched by Rule B) open the file on line 1 instead of the correct line.
- I inserted an "Error B" in validation box for both rules, and as expected it fails Rule A and match Rule B (with correct line number displayed). Based on it I don't understand why the incorrect line is used for errors of type B.

Any idea?
Is there any differences I should know between what the "Validate" button tells me and "Go to Error" ?

(Bonus complain: I'm becoming nuts because the configuration window keeps resizing to extreme small each time I open it)

Thanks a lot.

hs2

• Senior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 292
Re: Error parsing inconsistencies between 'Validate' button and 'Go to Error'
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2008, 12:15:04 PM »
@Bock: For v12.0.3 you need to patch 2 macro modules (see this post for some details).
Alternatively you could upgrade v13.0.2 where this issue is solved.
However, I've attached the related and patched v12.0.3 r35 files.