Author Topic: Can I delete old config directories?  (Read 3063 times)

JRen

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 11
  • Hero Points: 0
Can I delete old config directories?
« on: September 15, 2006, 11:23:08 pm »
In the "My Slickedit Config" directory I have subdirectories "10.0.0", "10.0.1" etc. up to the now newest 11.0.2
Can I delete the old ones?  Does each version just copy over to the new version?

Thanks!
J Renouard

Ding Zhaojie

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 193
  • Hero Points: 37
Re: Can I delete old config directories?
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2006, 09:36:08 am »
Yes, after upgrade you can delete old config directories.

Upgrading Slickedit is really a hard work. After upgrade all my customized menu items, modifications to forms and macros were lost. I had to spend more then an hour on tweaking the new version and reapplying my modifications to forms and macros :(

hs2

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2733
  • Hero Points: 285
Re: Can I delete old config directories?
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2006, 10:52:53 am »
Have a look at that:
http://community.slickedit.com/index.php?topic=308.0
http://community.slickedit.com/index.php?topic=387.0
to avoid the default config dir behaviour.

This doesn't prevent you from re-applying your patches to the genuine (upgraded) Slick-modules ...
I already wrote a little helper macro for some re-compile / apply / setup stuff as my patch-list gets longer and longer ;)
However, the hard work of merging will always be up to us ...

But thanks to the good work of the Slickteam the upgrade frequency is quite low.

HS2