Author Topic: Files open in SlickEdit locked for other applications!?  (Read 19735 times)

Marcel.Kummer

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 16
  • Hero Points: 0
Files open in SlickEdit locked for other applications!?
« on: October 03, 2006, 07:32:58 am »
Hi Folks

I had to reinstall my SlickEditor due to a network problem. Since then I have a problem and can't find the appropriate option:

When a file is currently open in the SlickEditor it is locked for other applications. It neither can be changed, deleted nor renamed from outside SlickEdit. Before my reinstallation this was all possible: After a change from outside the SlickEditor I have been asked whether I wanted to refresh the file(s).

I tried Tools -> Pptions -> General -> More -> Protect read-only mode which seemed to be obviously what I looked for. Unfortuantely nothing changed when I checked the box.

I'm sure somenone must have come across this as well.
Thanks for your help!
Marcel
« Last Edit: October 03, 2006, 08:02:47 am by Marcel.Kummer »

hs2

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2733
  • Hero Points: 284
Re: Files open in SlickEdit locked for other applications!?
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2006, 10:11:53 am »
See Tools->Options->File Options -> Load tab: uncheck 'File locking'
Hope this helps,

HS2

Marcel.Kummer

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 16
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Files open in SlickEdit locked for other applications!?
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2006, 10:44:06 am »
The option was already off  ::)

hs2

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2733
  • Hero Points: 284
Re: Files open in SlickEdit locked for other applications!?
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2006, 02:54:36 pm »
??? No idea ...
Never had problems like this and there is no other option known to me which affects this.
Just to be sure that it's not related to a corrupted configuration you could try this:
e.g. on Windows vs -sc C:\TEMP to startup Slick with factory defaults.
Check the file locking option (which surely defaults to OFF) and retry ...
Stupid question - there is no 'other problem' with the file (delete, rename) if Slick is not started (and opened the file) ?
I think of effective access rights, attributes, server share ...

Really strange ...

HS2

Marcel.Kummer

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 16
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Files open in SlickEdit locked for other applications!?
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2006, 06:57:36 am »
The idea with the corrupt configuration file was right!
When I started SlickEdit with the factroy defaults the following error appeared:

'C:\Programme\SlickEdit\vslick.sta' is not recognised as a compatible state file or pcode file

I replaced the file with one from a colleague and I could start SlickEdit. I opened a file and tried to rename it outside SlickEdit. Although the file locking option is off, I was refused to do so. After I closed SlickEdit again I could rename and delete the file.
I then opened the file in the windows editor and tried to rename it meanwhile which was no problem.
I think there is no problem with the file...

If you have any furhter ideas they would be most helpful to me.
Thanks a lot!
Marcel



« Last Edit: October 04, 2006, 06:59:22 am by Marcel.Kummer »

hs2

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2733
  • Hero Points: 284
Re: Files open in SlickEdit locked for other applications!?
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2006, 08:29:59 am »
Hi Marcel.
just to be clear. The procedure described should start Slick as if it's installed the very first time to find out if your 'normal' configuration is causing the problem.

Go to 'C:\Programme\SlickEdit\win' using explorer or preferably TotalCommander ;) or the CMD shell (cmd.exe).
e.g. in CMD shell type
D:\Tools\Editor\SlickEdit\win>vs -sc C:\TEMP telling Slick to use 'C:\TEMP' as it's config dir.
Ensure that there is no Slick config stuff (especially vslick.sta) in 'C:\Temp' before doing so.

There should be no error message like 'C:\Programme\SlickEdit\vslick.sta' is not recognised as a compatible state file or pcode file'.

HS2

Marcel.Kummer

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 16
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Files open in SlickEdit locked for other applications!?
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2006, 09:26:23 am »
Okay, now I got the point   :-\

I did start SlickEdit as you mentioned. I was asked to register SlickEdit as if it was the first time it was started on the system...

I checked the option 'file lock' and it was off. I created a txt-file in the explorer and tried to rename it which was successful. I then opened the txt-file in SlickEdit and tried to rename it in the explorer again which was not successful  :o

Thanks for your help!
Marcel


hs2

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2733
  • Hero Points: 284
Re: Files open in SlickEdit locked for other applications!?
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2006, 10:45:46 am »
Weird ... that's up to the real experts @slickedit.com.

I noticed one more thing. I had to re-startSlick re-open the file after changing the 'file lock' option to take effect.

HS2

Edited:
« Last Edit: October 04, 2006, 11:06:37 am by hs2 »

Graeme

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2093
  • Hero Points: 252
Re: Files open in SlickEdit locked for other applications!?
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2006, 03:43:33 pm »

Did you try this...
Try turning the file locking option on, then close slickedit.
Then restart slick and turn the option off. (maybe close and restart slick here).  Then check if files still get locked.

You could also do yet another reinstall of slick - but first delete the existing slick installation folders - or install to a new folder.  Then when you run slick, use the -sc switch as hs2 showed, and be sure to specify a new or completely empty folder.

Graeme

Marcel.Kummer

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 16
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Files open in SlickEdit locked for other applications!?
« Reply #9 on: October 05, 2006, 06:12:29 am »
Thanks Graeme for your post

I tried about every possible combination of checking / unchecking the option and restarting SlickEdit again :D  I tried it again the way you supposed but unfortunately the behaviour did not change.

I then deinstalled SlickEdit and deleted all related folders like c:\programs\SlickEdit and C:\Dokumente und Einstellungen\Ra07322a\Eigene Dateien\My SlickEdit Config\10.0.2. After the reinstallation I started SlickEdit as hs2 showed (vs -sl c:\temp) and opened a textfile. I tried to rename it outside SlickEdit and did fail to do so...

To exclude any problem with windows I closes SlickEdit and opened the same file either in WordPad and WindowsEditor and was still able to rename it!

Strange, isn't it?
Marcel

Graeme

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2093
  • Hero Points: 252
Re: Files open in SlickEdit locked for other applications!?
« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2006, 06:27:51 am »

Looks like you're using Slick V10.0.2.

I just tried enabling file locking in Slick V10.0.2 and slick immediately crashed.
Now slick crashes on startup every time!  - obviously that's not happening to you.  I'll try to find out why.

It might be possible to write a small Windows app to unlock files that slick seems to be locking, if all else fails.

Graeme

Marcel.Kummer

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 16
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Files open in SlickEdit locked for other applications!?
« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2006, 06:33:55 am »
Didn't want to ruin your system  ;)

naponator

  • New Community Member
  • Posts: 1
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Files open in SlickEdit locked for other applications!?
« Reply #12 on: October 18, 2006, 01:52:42 pm »
I found the problem to occur when a vs.exe was running in the background.  If I terminated that process then the file locking problem went away.

Dan

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2064
  • Hero Points: 100
Re: Files open in SlickEdit locked for other applications!?
« Reply #13 on: October 18, 2006, 03:43:33 pm »
Are these large files?  Is the problem that the file is larger than the size in Tools>Options>File Options "Load partial if larger than X"?

Marcel.Kummer

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 16
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Files open in SlickEdit locked for other applications!?
« Reply #14 on: October 20, 2006, 11:29:59 am »
Hi Dan

Your the man! 8)

The file in question is 1.2 MB large...
My load partial if larger than-option is 500KB...

I changed the partial-option to 2000KB and everything works fine again.

Thank you very much!
Marcel