Author Topic: UTF-8 in build window  (Read 2899 times)

nicktook

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 14
  • Hero Points: 0
UTF-8 in build window
« on: January 05, 2010, 12:37:48 pm »
I issue build commands from SlickEdit 13.0.2 on Windows to a Linux host.  Be default, GCC outputs error messages that contain UTF8 characters (mostly open and close quotes).  Slick-edits Build output window displays these as garbage.  I have worked around this by having this line in my makefile:

   export LC_ALL=en_US

That has worked for years.  Now I am wondering if there is a way to get SlickEdit to handle these UTF8 characters instead.

Note: if I save the make output to a file and open in a normal edit window it displays correctly.

Wanderer

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 558
  • Hero Points: 23
Re: UTF-8 in build window
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2010, 01:20:20 pm »
UTF-8 seems to cause problems in a lot of areas of SlickEdit.  A little surprising, given how long UTF-8 has been in use.

ehab

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 284
  • Hero Points: 15
  • coding with SE is like playing music
Re: UTF-8 in build window
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2010, 02:01:23 pm »
UTF-8 problems happen in search also. SE dev team already know about it, lets hope v14 will have the fix.

ScottW, VP of Dev

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 1471
  • Hero Points: 64
Re: UTF-8 in build window
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2010, 04:14:47 pm »
I believe this will be fixed in SlickEdit 2010, due out this Spring. The beta is expected to be available later this month. We will post an announcement on the forums when it is ready.

pingf

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 29
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: UTF-8 in build window
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2010, 09:16:24 am »
It seemed that the 2010 version has the same problem...

ScottW, VP of Dev

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 1471
  • Hero Points: 64
Re: UTF-8 in build window
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2010, 02:46:09 pm »
pingf: are you saying that you are experiencing this problem on v15.0.0.6? If so, can you describe the situation and provide your Help > About SlickEdit information.

ScottW, VP of Dev

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 1471
  • Hero Points: 64
Re: UTF-8 in build window
« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2010, 08:38:03 pm »
I was able to verify that we did NOT enable UTF-8 in the build window. We did it for a bunch of others but not that one. I'm looking into whether this can be done for v15.0.1.