Author Topic: Intel c++ without visual studio use SlickEdit  (Read 7042 times)

Silas Tomkyn Combermache

• Junior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 0
Intel c++ without visual studio use SlickEdit
« on: February 08, 2010, 09:22:47 PM »
I'm trying to save some cash.  :)I know slickedit will work with visual studio no problemo, but I do not want to buy it. The Intel c++ website says you can use the Intell c++ compiler using only the free express version of microsoft c++ IF you can settle for the command line - no graphic ide integration. OK, I can live with that, but can I use slick edit with the visual c++ express and Intel compiler combination? I am a student so I can get the Intel compiler kind of cheap.
thanks.

(later) I found out that there is a difference between the 'academic' and 'student' versions of the intel development suite. Student version requires visual studio and academic version includes a 'vshell' program that enables use of only the express or free version of the microsoft compiler for command line use.
PB
« Last Edit: February 08, 2010, 09:46:45 PM by Silas Tomkyn Combermache »

ScottW, VP of Dev

• Senior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 64
Re: Intel c++ without visual studio use SlickEdit
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2010, 03:01:28 PM »
For the lowest cost and best integration with SlickEdit, I would recommend using the GNU compiler and debugger. They are available for free from Cygwin and others. We have default project types for those and an outstanding front-end to their debugger. Is there a particular reason you want to use the Intel compiler?

You can use the Intel compiler with SlickEdit, but you'll have to configure your projects to build. Does that also come with a debugger? If so, we don't have a front-end for that, so you'll have to debug using the interface they provide.

Silas Tomkyn Combermache

• Junior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 0
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2010, 12:37:47 AM »