Author Topic: How to open multiple SlickEdit in Windows XP?  (Read 9385 times)

studentpower

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 7
  • Hero Points: 0
How to open multiple SlickEdit in Windows XP?
« on: February 11, 2010, 02:44:00 am »
I can only open 1 slickedit 2007 in windows xp. But I want to look at two projects at the same time, how???

Brandon Hamm

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 30
  • Hero Points: 1
Re: How to open multiple SlickEdit in Windows XP?
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2010, 03:15:21 am »
Invoke vs.exe with the "+new" invocation option will create a new instance of SlickEdit.

studentpower

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 7
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: How to open multiple SlickEdit in Windows XP?
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2010, 04:25:24 pm »
It works! Thanks!

Mike

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 100
  • Hero Points: 20
Re: How to open multiple SlickEdit in Windows XP?
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2011, 10:01:52 pm »
usage:
vs +new

sundeepece

  • Junior Community Member
  • Posts: 3
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: How to open multiple SlickEdit in Windows XP?
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2011, 10:11:12 pm »
Thank you,
It's working for me,
I guess this option should have been made default.

Mike

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 100
  • Hero Points: 20
Re: How to open multiple SlickEdit in Windows XP?
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2011, 01:52:39 pm »
You can make it permanent by using this environment variable:
VSLICK=+new

VSLICK can be set for any invocation option(s) you want SlickEdit to inherit.

The problem with making this a default setting is that it causes the state file (vslick.sta /vslick.stu, depending on the OS) to be locked for the instances.  Since SlickEdit will only store the state of the "last closed" instance, users will get a warning when closing multiple SlickEdit instances, (except for when it is the last remaining instance) and this causes confusion for many users.

Therefore, the warning message: "vslick.sta/u file cannot be saved, exit anyway?"
is safe to Ok the exit if you still have the SlickEdit instance open whose state you would like to keep.


Side note: A few users have alleviated this by having multiple configurations, but most customers think extra configuration directories complicate things too much.  I tend to agree.