Author Topic: How can I make the "Load Files" dialog box docked?  (Read 8215 times)

ahacali

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 24
  • Hero Points: 2
How can I make the "Load Files" dialog box docked?
« on: October 20, 2006, 11:13:54 pm »
Hello,

Everytime I want to open a file from the Project, I have to use the mouse, and click on the "Load Files" item, and then the dialog box appears and I can type one or a few files in it.  And while it is open, I cannot do anything (like type code, etc..).

Is there a way, I can make the "Load Files" dialog box stay permanent somewhere in my window, so I don't need to keep popping it up everytinme I need to open a file.

Thank you,
Aha.

hs2

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2752
  • Hero Points: 291
Re: How can I make the "Load Files" dialog box docked?
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2006, 06:12:39 am »
I'd propose using the 'Projects' toolbar instead. It's dockable and auto-hideable.
@see View->Toolbars->...

HS2

Ding Zhaojie

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 194
  • Hero Points: 37
Re: How can I make the "Load Files" dialog box docked?
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2006, 02:48:04 pm »
Yes, the load files dialog needs some improvements indeed.

My ideal load file dialog is like the project window in SourceInsight. It is dockable, really fast(if you have more than 15k files in your project, in Slickedit it will take about 3-4 seconds to wait the "load file" dialog appears), show more information(the Code Metrics column is great!) and has a smarter search box(my favorite, the search box is much better than the one in Slickedit. It works as a "filter" but the Slickedit's can only preforms incremental filename search).

an example: I type "mmu ppc" in SourceInsight Project Window and it shows me all files with "mmu" and "ppc" in their filenames.
« Last Edit: October 21, 2006, 03:08:11 pm by Ding Zhaojie »

hs2

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2752
  • Hero Points: 291
Re: How can I make the "Load Files" dialog box docked?
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2006, 09:05:59 pm »
This multi-word filter is a bit better than my patch.
But I think the filter provided in Slick class browser is nearly optimal.
Does it also support i-searching (w/ arbitrary starting char/col) the list ?
With all that it's quite close ...

HS2

at5dapa1

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 213
  • Hero Points: 19
Re: How can I make the "Load Files" dialog box docked?
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2006, 10:11:10 am »
Sorry to ask: why don't you use the Open tab?
I set it autohide, and bind the "activate-open" to Alt+O. Everytime I want to open new file, I press Alt+O, then start typing the filename, because usually the FileName edit box has the focus, if not just press a Shift+Tab to get there. After opening, the tab is automatically hiding itself back. No mouse action!

Does "Load Files" have any advantages against Open tab?

Thanks,
Daniel

Ding Zhaojie

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 194
  • Hero Points: 37
Re: How can I make the "Load Files" dialog box docked?
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2006, 12:35:20 pm »
Sorry to ask: why don't you use the Open tab?
I set it autohide, and bind the "activate-open" to Alt+O. Everytime I want to open new file, I press Alt+O, then start typing the filename, because usually the FileName edit box has the focus, if not just press a Shift+Tab to get there. After opening, the tab is automatically hiding itself back. No mouse action!

Does "Load Files" have any advantages against Open tab?

Thanks,
Daniel
If your project has thousands of files spreading in many folders, you will see at least one of the advantages  ;)
« Last Edit: October 23, 2006, 12:49:51 pm by Ding Zhaojie »

Clark

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5768
  • Hero Points: 460
Re: How can I make the "Load Files" dialog box docked?
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2006, 01:56:10 pm »
Hmmm,  this one comes up a lot.  There's definitely a need for a Load Files tool window with a few enhancements.

hs2

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 2752
  • Hero Points: 291
Re: How can I make the "Load Files" dialog box docked?
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2006, 02:17:14 pm »
Fine - this sounds good to me (again) !
As aready mentioned/posted there is room for (similar) improvements for all 'list-*' commands and of course 'project-load'.
Maybe it boils down to a revamp of the legacy sellist functionality.

Good luck,

HS2

at5dapa1

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 213
  • Hero Points: 19
Re: How can I make the "Load Files" dialog box docked?
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2006, 06:04:20 am »
Thanks, I got it: "Open" tab will open only the given folder's files.

Maybe is better, instead of "LoadFiles", to improve this "Open" tab, by adding the capability to list all the files from:
- current folder
- current project
- current workspace
Something like FindInFiles's settings? The truth is that I like this tab... It has autocompletion, and
It's dockable and auto-hideable.
and maybe partial matching can be added.  ;)

Daniel