Author Topic: Using Google Chrome with Slickedit  (Read 3845 times)

GeoffreyF67

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 6
  • Hero Points: 0
Using Google Chrome with Slickedit
« on: April 16, 2010, 06:59:52 pm »
Has anyone here successfully used Google Chrome with slickedit?

I've set the application that should be launched for any browser activity to:

"/Applications/Google Chrome.app/Contents/MacOS/Google Chrome" --new-window "%F"

When it tries to launch I get this error:

http://cl.ly/SJJ

Any ideas on how to get this to work are appreciated.

G-Man

ScottW, VP of Dev

  • Senior Community Member
  • Posts: 1471
  • Hero Points: 64
Re: Using Google Chrome with Slickedit
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2010, 07:25:02 pm »
Just to be clear, you set that string in Options > Network & Internet Options > Web Browser Setup, right? You selected the "Other" radio button and put the string in the "Program" field. Did you uncheck "Use DDE".  If not, please do so.

I did that and used this string, which has the path to Chrome on my machine:
"C:\Documents and Settings\swestfall\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe" --new-window "%F"

And everything works fine for me. What platform are you using? Can you post the Help > About information?

What are you doing to launch the browser. I did my testing my Ctrl+Right-Click on a URL in a comment.

GeoffreyF67

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 6
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Using Google Chrome with Slickedit
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2010, 07:30:50 pm »
Yes, that's the window I used.  Use DDE isn't available (it's unchecked anyway).

I'm using OS X Snow Leopard.

I am trying to launch via the debugger (step into).

I also tried -url instead of -new-window -- same results.

I was trying to get help to load for several hours with Google Chrome and it kept loading Safari when I finally saw in the help that the browser setting is ignored for help - WTF? :)

Here is my info...


SlickEdit Version 14.0.2.2

Serial number: VMX111419
Licensed number of users: Single user
License file: /Applications/SlickEditV1402.app/Contents/slickedit/bin/slickedit.lic

Build Date: July 08, 2009
Emulation: Visual Studio

OS: Darwin
Kernel Level: 10.3.0
Build Version: Darwin Kernel Version 10.3.0: Fri Feb 26 11:57:13 PST 2010
X Server Vendor: The X.Org Foundation
Memory: 96% Load, 9950MB/10261MB Virtual
Screen Size: 1920 x 1178

Project Type: php
Language: *.php (PHP)

Installation Directory: /Applications/SlickEditV1402.app/Contents/slickedit/
Configuration Directory: /Users/GMan/Library/Application Support/SlickEdit/14.0.2/

Matthew

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 990
  • Hero Points: 44
Re: Using Google Chrome with Slickedit
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2010, 08:57:14 pm »
I don't have Chrome installed on any of my Macs yet. (Getting that now...)
In the meantime, can you try changing the command to open with Chrome to this:
open -a "Google Chrome" --args --new-window "%F"

Matthew

  • SlickEdit Team Member
  • Senior Community Member
  • *
  • Posts: 990
  • Hero Points: 44
Re: Using Google Chrome with Slickedit
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2010, 09:11:37 pm »
Ok. Here's the syntax.
open -a "Google Chrome" "%F" --args --new-window

GeoffreyF67

  • Community Member
  • Posts: 6
  • Hero Points: 0
Re: Using Google Chrome with Slickedit
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2010, 09:18:31 pm »
Sweet!

That launches the right window.

Now I just have to figure out what the cause of the "unable to launch debugger version not supported".

This really should be in your knowledgebase! 

G-Man