Author Topic: Default Window pane size...  (Read 5275 times)

rschaeff

• Community Member
  • Hero Points: 0
Default Window pane size...
« on: April 20, 2010, 06:11:10 PM »
Is there a way to adjust the default window size on a new window....  I have a really wide screen. The left side is the 1"margin which I can select... but I can't figure out how to set the default right side....

Again this is on version 7.0 ...so it may or maybe not be the same, but any suggestion would be appreciated.

(Besides upgrade :)... I've been losing that battle for four years now )

Thanks,
Rick

Tim Kemp

• Senior Community Member
  • Hero Points: 92
Re: Default Window pane size...
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2010, 05:13:03 PM »
Before default window size was added to SlickEdit I had a macro I used to do that, unfortunately that was several computers and jobs ago so I don't have a copy of it anymore.  Here is a thread with a macro you can start with.  I seem to remember there being several picky details that made it less straight forward than Graeme's suggestion, but with some playing around it works.

http://community.slickedit.com/index.php?topic=348.0

- Tim

jwiede

• Hero Points: 12
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2010, 05:18:18 PM »
Actually, there seem to be some general window and dialog sizing issues in 2010 (e.g. 15).  I've got a laptop with a 1440x900 native LCD resolution, not particularly tiny, but the settings dialog refuses to fit in the default dialog window (and provides no scroll bars either).  Auto-sizing is good, but designing dialogs that _require_ vertical resolutions larger than 768 to display seems a bit ill-considered, you're effectively excluding most laptops.